Eastern Michigan University
direct edit

First-Year Scholarships

Eastern Michigan University awards millions of dollars in academic scholarships each year. EMU awards certain scholarships to qualified freshmen who are admitted by June of their senior year. The Education First Opportunity Scholarship (EFOS) is available for students who are admitted by March 1. Freshman applicants who are admitted after June 1 (March 1 for EFOS) may receive scholarships based on availability of funds.

EMU Scholarships are customized based on a review of your high school GPA, ACT or SAT test scores, and the rigor of your high school curriculum. Qualified students are automatically considered for these awards at the time of admission.

Exclusive Awards (one per student)

Presidential Scholarship (learn more)
  • Type: Competitive
  • Amount: Full Tuition, Full Room and Board
  • Requirement: Admitted and competed in the Presidential Scholarship Competition (PSC)
Emerald Scholarship
  • Type: Automatic consideration
  • Variable $2,500 - $6,500
  • Requirement: Variable based on combination of GPA and ACT/SAT test scores
EMU Education First Opportunity Scholarship (EFOS)
  • Type: Automatic consideration
  • Amount: Full Tuition minus Federal, State and other EMU aid
  • Requirement: Pell Grant eligible; resident of MI or OH, Minimum 20 ACT or 1020 SAT (on 1600 scale), Minimum GPA of 3.0, file FAFSA

Other Awards (students may earn one of these awards in addition to one exclusive award)

National Scholars Program
  • Type: Automatic Consideration
  • Amount: $17,500 (approximate difference between resident and non-resident tuition)
  • Requirement: GPA of 2.75, ACT of 20, SAT of 1020 (on 1600 scale)
  • Note: Award pays the difference between out-of-state and in-state tuition for qualified students. Students from Michigan and Ohio pay in-state tuition and are not eligible for this award.

Thousands of EMU students receive scholarship money throughout their college careers from EMU academic departments and private scholarship programs. Information is available from the Office of Financial Aid.

For renewal criteria and full terms regarding these scholarships, visit the Office of Financial Aid.