twitter LinkedIn facebook youtube

Six to be honored with Teaching Excellence Awards Oct. 29

by Ellen Weaver, Published September 16, 2011


Six outstanding members of the Eastern Michigan University faculty will be honored at the 21st Annual Teaching Excellence Awards Saturday, October 29 at 9:30 a.m., at the EMU Student Center. Once again, the EMU Alumni Association and the Office for Alumni Relations invite alumni, friends and family to honor faculty who have distinguished themselves in the classroom.

“Our alumni and students alike appreciate everything that these dedicated men and women have brought to their education and their lives. Celebrating these fantastic teachers who have made such a great impact is important to the EMU community,” said Dan Mathis, Interim Executive Director of Alumni Relations. “The Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony is an opportunity for us to honor them for the way they have represented educational quality at EMU and for going above and beyond to help their students succeed.”

Friends, guests and the general public are welcome to attend. Advance tickets are required and can be purchased through the Office for Alumni Relations at (734) 487-0250 or for $15 per person, $8 per student, and $5 for children 12 and under.

The 2011 Teaching Excellence Award Recipients are listed below. Leading up to the ceremony, we will release more information about the Alumni Association's distinguished selections.

2011 Teaching Excellence Award Recipients:
Geoffrey D. Hammill - Communication, Media, and Theatre Arts
Glenn K. Walker - Biology
Stewart L. Tubbs - Management
Sally L. Burton-Hoyle - Special Education
Gretchen D. Reeves - Occupational Therapy
Jamil Baghdachi - School of Engineering Technology.