Eastern Michigan University
direct edit

A Special Message for Alumni

We are very interested in hearing from you and in keeping in touch with you.  If you send us your address or email address, we will be sure to keep you on our mailing list for the newsletter and the annual departmental banquet.

Click here to go to the 2016-17 News Page

Click here to go to the 2015-16 News Page

Click here to go to the 2014-15 News Page

Click here to go to the 2013-14 News Page

Chemistry Department News 2017-18

February 14, 2018 News Briefs

  • Cory Emal received a Provost's Research Support Award for his project, " Equipment to increase capacity and generate standard wort for Fermentation Science research projects. "
  • Jesse Smith (Backues), Ahmed Mohamed (Albaugh), and Maira Shoukat (Nord) each received an Honors Senior Thesis Research Award.
  • Ronith Chakraborty and Jacquelyn Roberts (Backues), Alexis Marsh and Terence Stahl (Milletti), Zeineb El-Mohri and Marisa Gilliam (Albaugh), and Ifrah Skoukat (Nord) each received an Honors Undergraduate Research Fellowship for winter term.
  • Jasmine Winzeler (Backues) was awarded travel funds from the CAS Dean's Office for the April trip to the Keystone Conference on Selective Autophagy in Kyoto, Japan.
  • Robert Muterspaugh (Evans/Heyl-Clegg) was awarded a Graduate Travel Award through ASBMB (American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) for travel to the annual meeting in San Diego, CA in April.
  • Cory Emal was interviewed by EMU Today TV about the Fermentation Science program.  The program is on YouTube.
  • Cory Emal also was awarded a Summer Research/Creative Activity Award for 2018.

Dr. Amy Johnson

Professor Amy Johnson Co-Leads Pop-Up Learning Community

Professor Amy Johnson was one of the organizers and leaders of a pop-up learning community on climate change.  Primary focuses included learning how to establish a productive dialogue and how to identify and deal with misinformation.  The community involved an interdisciplinary team and over 150 students participated.  Follow this link to read more.  Posted 1/24/18.

EMU's ACS Student Chapter receives Honorable Mention for 2016-2017 activities

The ACS Committee on Education selects student chapters for distinguished programs and activities.  Last year's EMU student chapter received Honorable Mention for its activities.  Officers were Justin Powers and Natalia Anaya; chapter advisers were Tim Friebe and Jose Vites.  The ACS student chapter meets in conjunction with the Chemistry Club.  Posted 1/08/18.

December 8, 2017 News Briefs

  • Amy Johnson received an eFellows award for “Integrating Early Engineering Experiences for Pre-service Integrated Science Teachers."

Alla Pope, Dr. Brittany Albaugh, Shane Ginnard

Chemistry Undergrad Research Highlighted

Undergraduate research in the Chemistry Department was highlighted on the EMU website with a feature article about the work being done by Professors Brittany Albaugh and Steven Backues and their students.  Follow this link to read the complete story.  Posted 11/29/17. 

November 11, 2017 News Briefs

  • Jeremy Ritchie (Guthrie) received funding from the Graduate School to support his research titled Selection of Aptamer for Quantum Dot - Labeled Glycophosphate via Capillary Electrophoresis – SELEX.
  • Jeff Guthrie received a Provost's Research Support Award.
  • Jennifer Campos Ayala (Armitage) received funding from the Graduate School to support her research titled High Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC) Analysis of Ancient Textile Dyes from South America.
  • Cory Emal received a James H. Brickley Award to support Cicerone Certification: Faculty Preparation for a New Curriculum .
  • Steven Backues received funding from the CAS Dean’s Office for travel to the Keystone Conference on Selective Autophagy in Kyoto, Japan.
  • Larry Kolopajlo published a chapter for the ACS Symposium Series entitled Analytical Methodologies for Arsenic, Selenium, and Mercury: A Historical Perspective.

 October 6, 2017 News Briefs

  • Gavin Edwards received funding from the CAS Dean’s Office for travel to the CPI Polyurethanes Conference in New Orleans.
  • Nina Contis was an invited keynote speaker at the International Conference on Pure and Applied Sciences in Lahore, Pakistan.
  • Tim Brewer became a grandfather.  His daughter Katherine gave birth to a baby girl, Mia.
  • Ruth Ann Armitage had a conference paper published in Textile Specialty Group Postprints.

Dr. Steven Backues

Professor Steven Backues Receives Faculty Mentor Award

Professor Steven Backues was the 2017 recipient of the William Fennel Symposium Faculty Mentor Award.  This award recognizes extraordinary leadership and guidance to undergraduate students and their research experience that includes presentation at the Undergraduate Symposium.  Follow this link to read more about Professor Backues and his award.  Posted 9/20/17.

Dr. Nina Contis

Professor Nina Contis's Views on Global Engagement Featured in Chemical & Engineering News

Dr. Contis recently had an article entitled "Global engagement:  A competitive advantage in the practice of chemistry" featured in Chemical & Engineering News.  Dr. Contis is the chair of the ACS Committee on International Activities.  Follow this link to access the article and learn how the ACS is moving forward in this important area.  Posted 9/12/17.

September 8, 2017 News Briefs

  • Terry Stahl (Milletti), Jaylen Taylor (Heyl-Clegg), Justin Powers (Emal), and Maira Shoukat (Nord) received URSP (Undergraduate Research Stimulus Program) awards for summer.  Chemistry Department students received 4 out of the 14 awarded by the university.
  • Adam Baraka (Evans), Carson Zois (Backues), Brianna Sohl (Holmes), and Hayley Cawthon (Backues) completed Honors theses.
  • Jeff Guthrie was named a MVP (most valuable professor) by a student softball player and was honored at a game in April.
  • Amy Johnson, along with Katherine Ryker (Geography and Geology), was interviewed on NPR to publicize support for the importance of science, science funding, and the important role of women in STEM fields
  • Anna Eitel (Heyl-Clegg/Evans) was awarded travel funds from the Dean’s Office to attend the American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Conference in Chicago, IL, last April.
  • Maira Shoukat (Nord) and Terrance Stahl (Milletti) received Honors Undergraduate Fellowships for Summer and Fall 2017.
  • Steven Backues was the recipient of this year's William Fennel Symposium Faculty Mentor Award.  Hedeel Evans, Heather Holmes, and Ross Nord were also nominated.
  • Hedeel Evans, Jeff Guthrie, and Debbie Heyl-Clegg, with students Murali Jujjavarapu, Nathan Hendrickson, Anna Eitel, Yeji Park, Jennifer Garvey, Rebecca Newman, and Daniel Esckilsen had a paper accepted in Peptide and Protein Letters.
  • Cory Emal and Gregg Wilmes received a check for $2500 to the Fermentation Science Program from Brothers from the Arm of Honor Alumni Association.  Their cider (served at the department banquet) also won an award.
  • Cory Emal was issued a patent, Plasminogen Activator Inhibitor-1 Inhibitors And Methods Of Use Thereof.
  • Hedeel Evans was awarded a Provost's Research Support Award.



The Department of Chemistry is part of the College of Arts & Sciences, 214 Pray-Harrold