Eastern Michigan University
College of Education at Eastern Michigan University
Horizontal Spacer
Post-Baccalaureate Students
Elementary Education (Grades K-8)

EMU prepares teachers for elementary education (K-5) and middle level teaching (6-8). An elementary teaching certificate allows you to teach grades K-5. If you wish to teach at the middle school level, grades 6-8, you must take the subject area test in your major or minor.

Elementary Certification requires completion of an elementary liberal arts major, a second elementary major (or two minors), and a sequence of professional education classes. These requirements can be viewed below:

Approved elementary teaching majors and minors can be viewed below:

College of Education