## 2020 CELEBRATION OF STUDENT ACHIEVEMENTS



# EASTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS

#### SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS

#### Bruce C. Gockerman Award

The Gockerman Award recognizes an economics major who submitted a superior paper on a subject related to economics. Established in 1977 by alumnus Bruce C. Gockerman.

2020 Awardee: Emily Dunn, BA in Economics and TESOL

#### Gary E. Murg Award

The Murg Award recognizes an economics major who has an outstanding record of service to the Economics Department. Established in 1977 by alumnus Gary E. Murg, Esq.

2020 Awardee: Anna J. Newmyer, BA in Economics and Political Science

#### Donald W. Pearson Award

The Pearson Award recognizes an economics major or minor with a minimum G.P.A. of 3.0 with preference given to an Honors Program participant and/or a student with international study experience. Established in 2012 by Professor Emeritus Donald Pearson.

2020 Awardee: Camila A. Henriquez Mora, BA in Economics



## RECOGNITION OF ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENTS

Minimum of 12 economics credit hours (9 for graduate students) completed at EMU

#### Graduate Students with the Highest GPA

Haley Renda, MA in Economics, Todd Gates, MS in Applied Econometrics, Parisa Jahanbani, MA in Health Economics

#### Undergraduate Student with the Highest GPA

Landon Duke, BA in Economics

#### GPA in the range 3.90 to 4.00

Ethan Smith\*, BA in Economics and Political Science Martyna Czopek, BBA in Economics

### GPA in the range 3.70 to 3.89

Adriana Ramirez Cuellar, MS in Applied Econometrics Nasiba Usmonova, MS in Applied Econometrics Emily J. Westers, BA in Economics and Statistics Nathan R. Thomas, BA in Economics and Mathematics Michael R. Scheske\*, BA in Economics and History Kadian Clarke, BS in Actuarial Science and Economics Brielle A.M. Johnston, BS in Actuarial Science and Economics Pariss D. Gray\*, BA in Economics and Anthropology Skylar Carey, BA in Economics Lily C. Nwanesi\*, BA in Economics and Political Science Ian G. House, BBA in Economics Camila A. Henriquez Mora, BA in Economics Anna J. Newmyer\*, BA in Economics and Political Science

#### GPA in the range 3.50 to 3.69

Adegboyega Owolabi, MS in Applied Econometrics Emily Dunn\*, BA in Economics and TESOL Osayd Qatu, BA in Economics

\* Also a member of the Honors College



2020 Graduate Research Conference Participants

Jayson Osika, MA in Health Economics Cigarette Taxation Intensities and the Current State of Youth Price Sensitivities Amanda Stype, faculty mentor

Adegboyega Owolabi, MS in Applied Econometrics The Impact Of Business Cycle Fluctuations On Gender Employment Gaps James Saunoris, faculty mentor

Adriana Ramirez Cuellar, MS in Applied Econometrics The Effect of Policy Incentives on Hispanic Educational Attainment Amani Rashid, faculty mentor

Sawyer Smith, MA in Economics Endogenous Money, Sectoral Balances, and Deficit Spending James Saunoris, faculty mentor

Nasiba Usmonova, MS in Applied Econometrics Gender Pay Gap in the Banking Sector: Has the Great Recession Changed the Obvious? Mehmet Yaya, James Saunoris, faculty mentors

### 2020 Undergraduate Symposium Participant Emma Krietemeyer, BA in Economics and Mathematics Modeling Stock Market and Political Climate: Applying Polynomial Multivariate Regression Models Amani Rashid, faculty mentor

# RECOGNITION OF DEPARTMENTAL SERVICE

#### Graduate Assistants/Tutors 2019-20

Austin Garner, MA in Economics Yue Li, MA in Economics Kevin Krause, MA in International Economics and Development Jayson Osika, MA in Health Economics Adegboyega Owolabi, MS in Applied Econometrics Adriana Ramirez Cuellar, MS in Applied Econometrics Aparna Reteesh, MA in Health Economics Haley Renda, MA in Economics Ethan Smith, MS in Applied Econometrics Sawyer Smith, MA in Economics Nasiba Usmonova, MS in Applied Econometrics

#### **Econ Club Officers**

President: Pariss Gray Vice President: Alexander Binkley Treasurer: Nasiba Usmonova Secretary: Ibrahim Awartani Supervisory Member: Michael Manning

#### Women in Economics Club Officers

President: Camila Henriquez Mora Vice Presidents: Martyna Czopek, Anna Newmyer Treasurer: Nasiba Usmonova Communications: Emma Krietemeyer Supervisory Members: Lily Nwanesi, Ian House

#### **Faculty Recognition**

Econ Club and Women in Economics Club Advisor Dr. Amani Rashid

Instructor of the Year (voted by the students) Dr. Amani Rashid