Economics Club

This is the officially recognized student organization for economics students. It is a student-run club which meets regularly to bring economics students together for fun and educational activities. It sponsors speakers and events on campus. It organizes trips to activities such as the luncheon meetings of the Economics Club of Detroit. The club informally meets in Graduate Den, PH708 and the permanent office is for the 2011-2012 school year will be in Student Center, 342E.

For more information, contact the current executive officers via email:

  1. President: Ed Cruz
  2. Treasurer: Jeffrey Kennedy
  3. Secretary: Christy Okpo

Omicron Delta Epsilon

Department of Economics is proud to house the ETA chapter of the Omicron Delta Epsilon: Honorary Society in Economics. Omicron Delta Epsilon is one of the world's largest academic honor societies. It recognizes scholastic attainment in the field of economics. The EMU chapter is open to both graduate and undergraduate students who have a genuine interest in economics, who have completed at least 9 credit hours in economics for graduate or 12 credit hours in economics for undergraduate students, and who have an overall GPA of 3.0 or better. Students are invited to join ODE each year. They receive a lifetime membership and a one-year subscription to The American Economist for their initiation fee. The induction ceremony are generally held during the Student Awards Ceremony at the end of Winter semester. For more information, contact the faculty advisor Dr. Mehmet E. Yaya.

Chapter News:

  • 2012 Student Awards ceremony was held on April 2th, 2012 in Room 330 Student Center starting at 3.30 pm. A record number of students, 14, were inducted to the honorary society this year. Here is a picture where Jeff Kennedy is getting his scroll from Dr. Yaya

2012 ODE ETA Chapter inductees are:

Adbulla Ali Kelly Ann Johnston Jeanette Renee Ulrich Ty Woodruff
Edward Cruz Shengyang Ju Daniel J. Routley Xin Xin
Scott Fraser Jeff Kennedy Cherilyn Scholtz  
Keith R. Howard III Cullen Pasquesi-Hill Sabrina Lowe Thompson  
  • 2011 Student Awards ceremony was held on April 4th, 2011 in Room 350 Student Center at 3.00 pm. 2011 ODE Eta Chapter inductees are:
Gaber Burnik Adlai Cleveland Christopher John Hart Lauren Jeffries
Lance Vought