Eastern Michigan University

Honors College

direct edit

Honors College History


The Eastern Michigan University Honors Program was founded in 1984 with the purpose of recruiting, retaining and rewarding academically talented students. Under the leadership of Dr. Robert Holkeboer, the founding director, and Dr. William Miller, the Honors Program developed into a valued opportunity for EMU students. In 2005, under the leadership of Dr. James Knapp, the Program became the University Honors College (UHC), later changed to the Honors College (HC).

The Honors College celebrated its 30th birthday in 2014. Though much has changed over its history, its purpose remains the same: to recruit, retain and reward academically talented students. The Honors College strives to provide an enriched educational experience for its members and help to prepare them for their desired future.

Over 120 Honors sections are offered each year, spanning General Education, majors, and minors. As the upcoming semester approaches, the College provides services to more than 1,000 members from across all of the university's five colleges and numerous academic departments. The Honors College takes pride in its diverse and academically outstanding student body!

The staff and faculty strive to provide the highest quality education within a large comprehensive university. We invite new and transfer students to come join us as we SOAR HIGHER!


Directors of the Honors College:

Dr. Robert Holkeboer (1984-1992) To learn more from Dr Holkeboer, click here

Dr. Bob

Dr. William Miller (1992-2002)

Dr. James Knapp (2004-2010)

Dr. Rebecca Sipe (2010-present)


Homes of the Honors College:

The original home of Honors were Jones Hall and Goddard Hall until 2002, when it moved to Wise Hall. Downing and Best Halls are EMU'S Honors residence halls. Since 2007 Starkweather Hall has been the location of the Honors offices.

The Honors College is excited to announce that they will be moving to the new Honors College building (formerly Holy Trinity Church on W. Forrest St.) in the 2015-2016 Academic year!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linked in
  • Blog EMU
  • EMU app