Eastern Michigan University

About the Cyber Security Awareness Committee

"24% of all identity theft complaints made to the Federal Trade Commission are made by college students."  Source: DHS.GOV

The Cyber Security Awareness Committee (CyberSAC) consists of a group of interested individuals from the College of Technology, Faculty Development Center, University Communications, and the Division of Information Technology that aspire to work collaboratively to improve cyber security awareness and cyber safety of EMU students and other members of the University community.

Goals and Objectives

Goal:  Increase the awareness of cyber security at Eastern Michigan University and integrate security best practices into the culture of the institution.

Objectives

  1. Reduce the number of compromised accounts, stolen laptops, stolen mobile devices, and virus infections.
  2. Establish a baseline of EMU cyber safety knowledge perceptions and increase the percentage of EMU community awareness of security best practices.
  3. Increase awareness of the Information Assurance program.
  4. Improve the annual security awareness program provided by the Division of Information Technology.

Project Participants

Samir Tout, Ph.D. Information Assurance stout@emich.edu
Dave Endresak Technology Studies dendresa@emich.edu
Peggy Liggit, Ph.D. Faculty Development Center aavp_fdc@emich.edu
Ted Coutilish Communications tcoutili@emich.edu
Meghan Taraszkiewicz Communications mbritto3@emich.edu
Kayleigh Lemon Communications  
Andrea Tanner Information Technology atanner1@emich.edu
Diane Lawrence Information Technology

dlawrence3@emich.edu

Steve Edwards Information Technology sedward5.emich.edu
George Thompson Information Technology gthomps4@emich.edu
Sue Procter Information Technology sprocter@emich.edu
Jake Weber Information Technology jweber18@emich.edu
Rocky Jenkins Information Technology rjenkins@emich.edu

Want to help?

If you want to participate in this project, please contact any committee member listed above.