Eastern Michigan University

Forward Calls

Online with Unified Communications Self Care Portal, you can setup a call to forward to voicemail or another number and you can delete the forward. The advantage of forwarding calls online is that you won't have to physically be at your phone to engage or disengage the forward option.

Forward calls to another phone
  1. Log in to the Self Care Portal (log in instructions can be accessed from the Log in link located in the navigation menu on the right).
    Note: The Self Care Portal will automatically log you out after 15 minutes of non-use.
  2. In the Self Care Portal, select Call Forwarding from the menu on the left.
    Call Forwarding Menu
  3. Click the drop-down arrow for the phone line you want forwarded, check the Forward all calls to box and select either Voicemail or Add a new number form the drop-down menu.
    Check Forward
  4. If Add a new number was selected, type a phone number with no spaces, commas, periods, or dashes. Enter one of the following:
           •  EMU 5 digit number (7xxxx)
           •  local 7 digit number, preceded by the number "6" (6xxxxxxx)
           •  long distance 10 digit number, preceded by the number "8, 1" (81xxxxxxxxxx)
  5. Click the Save button.
    Add Number
  6. Optionally, click the Advanced calling rules arrow and configure the phone line to forward internal and external calls received.
  7. Click the drop-down arrow next to your name in the upper right corner and click the Sign Out link.
    Forward Sign Out
    Important:Remember to delete the forward either at your phone or with Self Care Portal (see instructions below.
Delete Forward
  1. Log in to the Self Care Portal (log in instructions can be accessed from the Log in link located in the navigation menu on the right).
  2. Click the Call Forwarding menu item.
    Call Forward link
  3. Click the drop-down arrow of the phone line you want to remove the forward from, and UNCHECK the Forward all calls to box.
  4. Click the Save button.
    Delete Forward
  5. Click the drop-down arrow next to your name in the upper right corner and click the Sign Out link.
    Sign Out Delect Forward