OIS Seminars
>> Success Series
>> Library Workshops
>> H1B Seminars
>> Entrepreneur Seminar
>> CPT Seminars
>> OPT Seminars


Success Series

If students attend four Success Series sessions, they will get an EMU sweatshirt and bag of EMU goodies. If students attend three Success Series sessions, they will win a bag of EMU goodies. To register for the Success Series, click here.

Success Series: Academic Success

When: 26 Sep 1pm-2pm
Where: Student Center @Room 320

Studying in a different culture can be challenging. Come and connect with senior students while learning coping skills. An academic advisor will be present and answer all your questions.

Success Series: Be Healthy!

When: 2 October 2pm-3:30pm
Where: Meet at OIS to go to the Snow Health Center

Coming to a new culture can be very exciting, but it can also leave us confused when trying to understand new ways of doing things and interacting with other students. Learn about ways of adjusting to the U.S. culture. As a student, it is very important to be health- physically, mentally and emotionally. Healthy emotional and social adjustment lead to better academic performance. Take a tour of the Snow Health Center and learn about Caps, the Wellness Center and University Health Services.

Success Series: Communication Coaching

When: 17 Oct 1pm-2pm
Where: Student Center @Room 301

Not knowing how to get your points across? Communication is an art, so don't be frustrated. Learn how to communicate effectively in the classroom, with Americans and in the community.

Success Series: Friends, Family and Relationships

When: 07 Nov 1pm-2pm
Where: Student Center @Room 320

Americans may view friendships, family and relationships differently than your home culture. We will discuss differences and similarities and how to cope.

Success Series: Employment Basics

When: 05 Dec 1pm-2pm
Where: Student Center @Room 301

Learn the basics of finding an internship or job! Employers' expectations may be different than your home country. Learn from an expert on what employers are looking for and how to go about a job search.

Taxes

The OIS will teach you more about the tax-filing process, specifically how to use Glacier Tax Prep.

Day Time Place
Tue, Feb 17, 2015 10am-11am SC320
Mon, Mar 09, 2015 11am-12pm SC320
Wed, Mar 18, 2015 03pm-04pm SC320

H1B Seminars

When: Monday, 29 Sep 2pm-4pm
             Tuesday, 2 Dec 2pm-4pm
Where: Student Center @Room 330

To register, click here.

For the presentation click here.

Entrepreneur Seminar

When: Monday, 03 Nov 2pm-4pm
Where: Student Center @Room 330

To register, click here.

For the presentation click here.

CPT Seminars

Mandatory for students interested in working off-campus through Curricular Practical Training. You must attend this seminar before scheduling a CPT appointment.

Please see below for the planned CPT seminar schedule:

Day Time Place
Thu, Dec 11, 2014 02pm-03pm SC352
Mon, Dec 15, 2014 10am-11am SC320
Mon, Jan 12, 2015 10am-11am SC320
Tue, Jan 20, 2015 11am-12pm SC320
Wed, Jan 28, 2015 01pm-02pm SC320
Thu, Feb 05, 2015 02pm-03pm SC320
Mon, Feb 09, 2015 11am-12pm SC320
Wed, Feb 25, 2015 03pm-04pm SC320
Thu, Mar 05, 2015 02pm-03pm OIS Conference room
Wed, Mar 25, 2015 01pm-02pm OIS Conference room
Thu, Apr 02, 2015 03pm-04pm SC320
Mon, Apr 06, 2015 10am-11am SC320
Tue, Apr 14, 2015 10am-11am OIS Conference room


To register, click here.

OPT In-Person Seminars

Mandatory for all international students filing for Optional Practical Training. You must attend this seminar before scheduling an OPT appointment.

Please see below for the planned OPT seminar schedule:

Day Time Place
Wed, Dec 17, 2014 01pm-02pm SC320
Mon, Jan 19, 2015 02pm-03pm OIS Conference room
Tue, Feb 03, 2015 11am-12pm SC320
Wed, Feb 18, 2015 10am-11am SC320
Tue, Mar 03, 2015 02pm-03pm OIS Conference room
Mon, Mar 16, 2015 03pm-04pm SC320
Thu, Apr 02, 2015 10am-11am SC320
Wed, Apr 15, 2015 11am-12pm SC320


To register, click here.

OPT Online Seminars

Besides the in-person seminars, the OIS also offers an online OPT seminar. Go to https://secure.ecollege.com/emu/.

If you have taken EMU online courses before, you should enter your E number and EMU-Online password.

If you have never taken online courses before at EMU, you should click "forgot your password?" and enter your username (called NetID) when prompted. An email will be sent to you to create a log in.

You must take a quiz at the end of the online seminar and earn at least 90% to confirm you understand the information. Please contact the OIS at ois@emich.edu if you have troubles using the online OPT seminar.


Resources
appointments Divider

seminars
Divider
forms
Divider