Eastern Michigan University
direct edit

News & Events


Strategies for Applying to Law School or Graduate School                                    Monday, Nov. 30th, 5:00 p.m.,                    Pray Harrold 213                                                  Topics: picking a school, LSAT and GRE, statements of purpose, choosing writers for recommendation letters                                    speakers: Dr. Pyle and Dr. Fleischmann         (pizza provided, please bring your own beverage)                  

Beginning Fall 2015, undergraduates can now choose a Nonprofit Concentration in the revised Public and Nonprofit Administration major.  This new track requires 36 credit hours.
NASPAA has reaccredited our MPA Program through the 2018-19 academic year.


 Winter 2016 Schedules:

Undergraduate Graduate

Fall 2015 Schedules:

Undergraduate Graduate


Fall 2015

Winter 2016                   

previous semesters

 Future Course Offerings      

2015-2017 undergraduate

2015-2018 graduate                                       

Who We Are

Faculty: 17

Full-time lecturers: 2

Part-time lecturers: 11


Undergraduate majors (winter 2015)

  • Political Science: 200
  • International Affairs: 63
  • Public Law & Government: 19 (+ 21 pre-law undeclared)
  • Public Administration: 39
  • Public Safety Administration: 49


NASPAA-accredited Master of Public Administration program

Award-winning Mock Trial, Moot Court, and Model United Nations teams

More than 2,000 alumni in 48 states and 18 foreign countries



  • Class of 2014: assistantships for Ph.D. work at Penn State and U. of Massachusetts; law school at Harvard and Stetson.
  • Class of 2013: law school on scholarship at Michigan State, Ohio State, Toledo, William and Mary, and Wisconsin; M.A. programs in international affairs at Pittsburgh, NYU; and a position with UNWOMEN in Niger.

Department Head: Dr. Arnold Fleischmann

MPA Interim Director: Dr. Jeffrey Bernstein

MPA Coordinator:  Rose Soliven

                                                                                                     Senior Secretary: Doreen Mendelssohn

Department Secretary: Connie VanAtta

The Department of Political Science is part of the College of Arts & Sciences, 214 Pray-Harrold, 734.487.4344