Setting Subscription Options
The Subscription Options control the privacy of your list. They allow you to create a public or private list, and who can see the the subscribed members.
An announcement-only list should generally be kept private unless there is a need to have non-members request a membership or self-subscribe.
Follow the instructions below to set up an announcement-only list:
- When logged onto the system, click the Privacy options... link at the top of the page.
- The Privacy options... section will open. There will be several subsections under Privacy options... .
- Scroll down the page to the Subscribing section.
- Set "Advertise this list when people ask what lists are on this machine?" to No.
- Set "What steps are required for subscription? to Require Approval.
- Scroll down the page to the Membership exposure section.
- Set "Who can view subscription list?" to List admin only.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the "Submit Your Changes" button.
Note: Subscribed members are individuals who have been added to the list and will receive messages posted to it. Unsubscribed members have been removed and will no longer receive messages.