EMU Regents grant emeritus status to three faculty members, five staff

by Pamela Young, Published September 23, 2009

YPSILANTI - The Eastern Michigan University Board of Regents granted emeritus status to three retired faculty members and five retired staff members at its regular meeting Sept. 22.

Faculty and staff members may be nominated for emeritus status upon retirement if they have at least 15 years of service. Faculty members granted emeritus status are:

• Michael T. Jones, professor of history and philosophy, who retired from Eastern Michigan in Jan. 2009 after 35 years of service.  Jones was nominated for his contributions in the classroom and for his mentoring of students who have gone on to successful careers in higher education and other professions.

• Pedro Sanchez, professor of computer information systems, who spent 37 years at EMU and retired in Aug. 2009. Sanchez was cited for his significant contributions to the department, in the classroom and the University. He served as interim executive director of University Computing and was chair for 27 master’s theses.  He also has been a consultant for various organizations, including the Advanced Information Systems division of General Dynamics.

• Clovis Semmes, professor of African American studies, who retired from EMU in Sept. 2009 after 21 years of service.  Known as a distinguished teacher and scholar, Semmes received EMU’s Alumni Distinguished Teaching Award in 2008. He is the author of four books and numerous journal articles.

Staff members granted emeritus status are:

• Nancy Dahl, coordinator, teacher certification, who retired in Aug. 2009 after 40 years of service. Dahl was nominated for her work with students while helping them reach their academic goals. Her attention to detail helped her students, who are certified teachers, return to EMU for professional development and to retain their teacher certification.

• Diane Schick, former executive secretary to the vice president for business and finance, who retired in Sept. 1995 after 30 years of service. Schick was cited for her service to the University, her peers and the students.  She was active in the EMU Employee Recognition Committee; served as president and vice president of the UAW TOP Local 1975 and was with the EMU Women’s Commission. Schick won the Woman of the Year, Secretarial/Clerical Award in 1977, the Student Affairs Gold Medallion in 1983, and the EMU Women’s Association Recognition Award in 1985.

• Karen Simpkins, interim associate vice president for human resources, who retired in July 2009 after 33 years. Throughout her 33 years at EMU, Simpkins has worked in nearly every division at the University, including the Division of Student Affairs for 12 years.  She has run training programs for foster parents; helped students launch job searches; wrote the University’s Code of Conduct; created a professional development program for graduate students, and led the human resources department during a time of change.

• Patricia Sullivan, administrative assistant II, College of Education Office of Academic Services, who retires in Oct. 2009 after 16 ½ years of service. She was nominated based on her dedication to the Office of Academic Services and its budget.  While in her position, Sullivan was known for her successful interaction with staff, students, faculty and administrators.

• Carole Ann Zakrzewski, secretary, dean’s office, College of Education, who retired in Sept. 2009 after 21 years of service. Zakrzewski was cited for her service and commitment to the College of Education, and for representing the interests of the University.


Pamela Young

Make a Gift
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linked in
  • Blog EMU
  • EMU app