EMU awards research fellowships to undergraduates

Topics in stimulus research program range from poetry to DNA analysis to solar wind

by Geoff Larcom, Published January 11, 2012

YPSILANTI - Eastern Michigan University is awarding eight $2,000 research fellowships to a group of highly qualified undergraduates.

The awards, part of the annual Undergraduate Research Stimulus Program, are intended to facilitate research partnerships between undergraduates and EMU faculty. Student awardees receive a $2,000 fellowship in support of their research efforts. Subjects range from an examination of T.S. Eliot's poetry to DNA analysis to determining the predictability of solar wind.

This award comes in the form of a credit to the student's university account.  In addition, a collaborating faculty member may receive $500, to be used for lab/studio supplies or equipment, professional travel, or other professional expenses.

In all, EMU has awarded a total of $16,000 to the eight students and $3,000 to six EMU faculty members for research and creative projects. Funding for the awards will come from the University's indirect cost recovery.

The student award winners and faculty mentors include:

1. David Boeving (majoring in Language, Literature & Writing and Philosophy). "The Gestural Language of T. S. Eliot's Poetry." Faculty mentor: Elisabeth Däumer (Department of English Language & Literature).

2. Michelle Hatto (majoring in Clinical Laboratory Sciences). "Investigating Essential Metabolic Pathways of Bacillus Anthracis." Faculty mentor: Lynne M. Shetron-Rama (School of Health Sciences).

3. Joshua Hunt (majoring in Chemistry and Biology). "Selection of Molecular Probes for Streptavidin Using Capillary Electrophoresis." Faculty mentor: Jeff Guthrie (Department of Chemistry).

4. Steven Korn (majoring in Earth Science). "Effects of the Saharan Aerosol Layer on Tropical Waves." Faculty mentor: Thomas Kovacs (Geography & Geology).

5. Benjamin C. Sharp (majoring in Chemistry). "Exploring the Use of Copolymers as an Effective Drug Delivery System." Faculty mentor: Gregg Wilmes (Department of Chemistry).

6. Jannelle Shaw (majoring in Biochemistry/Toxicology). "Verrucosispora: Antibiotic-producing soil bacteria from the Detroit River." Faculty mentor: Jamie Scaglione (Department of Chemistry).

7. Douglas Spry (majoring in Physics Research). "Investigating the Predictability of the Solar Wind." Faculty mentor: David Pawlowski (Department of Physics).

8. Kayleigh A. Watson (majoring in Biology). "Examination of the Function of the Sgs1 Protein at Fragile Site Two in Yeast DNA." Faculty mentor: Anne Casper (Department of Biology).



Geoff Larcom



Make a Gift
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linked in
  • Blog EMU
  • EMU app