Eastern Michigan University EMU HOME
About EMUFuture StudentsCurrent StudentsAcademics & ResearchFaculty & StaffAlumni & FriendsAthletics & RecreationNews & Events

Nov. 5 , 2004
CONTACT: Ward Mullens

EMU Board announces Regents Advisory Committee for presidential search

YPSILANTIAn advisory committee comprising a cross section of the University community was named today to assist in a national search for Eastern Michigan University’s next president.

“Although the 16-member committee represents several broad constituencies of the University, members were not selected to represent any particular interest group,” said Regent Steve Gordon, co-coordinator of the Presidential search. “We looked at a wide-variety of individuals who have made significant contributions to the University and who had been previously recognized through institutional award programs,” said Gordon. Members were selected from a group of former recipients of the Distinguished Faculty, Alumni Teaching, Institutional Values and Gold Medallion awards as well as distinguished student and community leaders.

“The Board of Regents recognize the hiring of a president is our most important duty,” said Regent Jan Brandon, co-coordinator for the search. “The first step in that process is having a great advisory group, people who have demonstrated a deep commitment to the University and willingness to do what is in the best interests of EMU as a whole,” said Brandon.

Dennis Beagen, chair of the Regents Advisory Committee and department head in Communication and Theatre Arts, said he was pleased with the committee’s composition. “A great deal of thought went into the selection of the members. I’m confident we have a group of individuals who will do everything in their power to attract and recommend the best candidates for the next president of EMU. I am especially pleased that eight of the 16 members are EMU alumni and of the eight, six have been recognized for outstanding achievement by the Alumni Association,” said Beagen.

The advisory committee is charged with the responsibility for conducting a national search using all available resources; identifying the most outstanding and qualified candidates for the presidency; screening those candidates, and recommending three to five candidates to the board of regents, which will select the president. The committee will be assisted by Academic Search Consultant Services (Academic Search), a senior-level executive search firm, based in Washington, D.C. Dr. Ann Die Hasselmo, managing director, will serve as the lead consultant for the search.

While Brandon said the Regents would like the university’s next president to take office by the 2005 Fall term, the advisory committee has the flexibility to work as long as necessary to identify the best candidates.

Members of the Regents Advisory Committee are:

Dennis Beagen, chair, department head, Communication and Theatre Arts.

EMU Alumni Association John W. Porter Distinguished Service Award, ’92; Alumni Teaching Excellence Award, ’92; EMU Institutional Values Award for Team Excellence, ’03; EMU, ’66.

Dr. Anthony Adamski, associate professor, School of Technology Studies.

Former Vice President of Special Services, Chrysler Pentastar, Chrysler Corporation, ’80-’87; EMU Alumni Association Teaching Excellence Award, ’03; Ypsilanti resident.

Dr. Daryl Barton, associate professor, Department of Marketing and Law.

EMU Distinguished Faculty Award for Service, ’03; College of Business Teaching Award; University Strategic Planning Committee.

Dr. Mary Bigler, professor, Department Teacher Education.

Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching, ’85; Michigan Association of Governing Boards - Distinguished Faculty Award, ’86; EMU Alumni Association Teaching Excellence Award, ’94; former President of Michigan Reading Association; EMU ’68.

Dr. Michael Brabec, professor, Department of Chemistry.

Distinguished Faculty Award for Scholarly/Creative Activity, ’90; Alumni Teaching Excellence Award, ’97; Chair, institutional committee on the Care and Use of Animals; Chair, College of Arts and Sciences Human Subjects Committee.

Dr. Polly Buchanan, associate dean, College of Health and Human Services.

Alumni Association Teaching Excellence Award, ’96; Everett Marshall Excellence in Advising Award, ’98; Division of Student Affairs Gold Medallion Award, ’86; Michigan Restaurant Association Board of Directors; Academic Service-Learning Fellow.

Rachel Cheng, University librarian

Co-chair, Information Management Task Force; University Technology Advisory Committee; Honors Advisory Committee; Task Force on Strategic Faculty Hiring; Ypsilanti resident.

Edward Davis II, EMU junior, majoring in political science and sociology.

President, EMU Student Government; Advisory Committee on new Student Union; Student Leaders Group; Advisory Committee to select the EMU Police Chief; from Troy, MI.

Rhonda DeLong, director, EMU Web Communications.

EMU Institutional Values Award for continuous Improvement, Innovation and Customer Service, ’04; University Technology Advisory Committee; Chair, Web Advisory Committee; Ypsilanti resident.

Patricia Harris, human resource consultant II, EMU.

Division of Student Affairs Gold Medallion Award, ’03; Strategic Planning Cross-cutting Committee on Diversity and Inclusion; EMU, ’99; Ypsilanti resident.

Courtney McAnuff ,vice-president for Enrollment Services, EMU.

Gold Medallion Award, ’88; Board of Directors, St. Joseph Mercy Hospital; EMU Foundation Board of Trustees, emeritus; Board of Directors, Meals on Wheels.

Dr. Richard Robb, Emeritus member/chair, EMU Board of Regents

EMU Alumni Association John W. Porter Distinguished Service Award, ’93; EMU, ’60; Ypsilanti resident.

Arthur Timko, director and general manager, WEMU-FM.

EMU Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award, ’03; Co-chair, EMU’s Sesquicentennial Committee; EMU Minority Affairs Committee; EMU, ’68, ’71; Ypsilanti resident.

Larry Warren, chair, EMU Foundation Board of Trustees.

EMU Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award, ’99; Crain’s Detroit Business, Minority Business All-Star, ’04; Association of Black Professionals, Administrators, Faculty and Staff, Dr. Charles Moody Award, ’01; Chair-elect, Greater Detroit Area Health Council; American Red Cross Board of Directors/Trustees; EMU, ’72, ’73.

James Webb, chairman, AON Risk Services of Michigan.

Alumni Association Alumnus Achievement Award, ’98; recipient of John W. Porter Distinguished Service Award, ’92: Chair, EMU Campaign for Champions; Co-chair corporate and Foundation component, Campaign for Scholars; former Chair, EMU Foundation Board of Trustees; Board of Directors, Detroit Athletic Club; EMU, ’71, ’76.

Michelle Williamson, EMU senior majoring in Social Studies, Secondary Ed.

Presidential Scholar; Honors Program; EMU Honors Student Association; University Ambassadors; presenter EMU Undergraduate Symposium ’04; from Canton, MI.

Brandon, Gordon and Dana Aymond, secretary to the Board of Regents, will serve as non-voting members of the committee. Updates regarding the presidential search can found at: www.emich.edu/presidentialsearch.


Eastern Michigan University is a public, comprehensive university that offers programs in the arts, sciences and professions. EMU prepares students with the intellectual skills and practical experiences to succeed in their career and lives, and to be better citizens.

Editor's Note: Looking for an expert source for a story? Check out EMU's Eastern Experts online at www.emich.edu/univcomm/easternexperts.

EMU Home | University Communications Home