Eastern Michigan University EMU HOME
About EMUFuture StudentsCurrent StudentsAcademics & ResearchFaculty & StaffAlumni & FriendsAthletics & RecreationNews & Events

Dec. 5, 2006
CONTACT: Pamela Young

Three Eastern Michigan University regents announce their resignations

YPSILANTI —EMU Regents Karen Valvo, Jan Brandon and Sharon Rothwell announced Monday that they have resigned their positions as members of the Board of Regents, effective no later than Jan. 31, 2007, but as early as Dec. 31, 2006.

In a letter dated Dec. 1, the three Regents cited issues that “require more attention and a longer time frame to resolve than we are able to provide within our terms of office.”

The three Regents, who were appointed by former Governor John Engler, collectively served nearly 14 years on the Board. The Regents concurrently sent a letter to Governor Granholm, also dated Dec. 1. Their letter to the EMU community references this letter, stating, “We provide the Governor with the opportunity to appoint replacement board members prior to the Jan. meeting, if she is able, so that they may participate in the planning for 2007 and the selection of new Board leadership.”

“This action by our board members is surprising and regrettable,” said EMU President John Fallon. “We appreciate the distinguished service Regents Brandon, Rothwell and Valvo have provided during their terms on the board. We look forward to working with the new appointees Governor Granholm chooses. We are confident that EMU will move forward to achieve its vision as a pre-eminent university in our state and region.”

Jan Brandon was appointed to the Board in April 2000, replacing Carl Pursell, whose term expired Dec. 31, 2000. Brandon was reappointed for a full term by Governor Engler in March 2001. Her term was scheduled to expire Dec. 31, 2008.

Karen Valvo, who served as Board chair, was appointed in March 2001. Her term was due to expire Dec. 31, 2008.

Sharon Rothwell was appointed in Oct. 2002. Her term was scheduled to expire Dec. 31, 2010.

The remaining members of the EMU Board are:

  • Joseph Antonini, whose term expires Dec. 31, 2006;
  • Floyd Clack, who was appointed to replace Steven G. Gordon for a term ending Dec. 31, 2006. As a recent appointee of Governor Granholm, Clack is expected to be reappointed to a full eight-year term on the Board beginning Jan. 2007;
  • Philip Incarnati, whose term expires Dec. 2010;
  • Thomas Sidlik, whose term expires Dec. 2012;
  • Roy Wilbanks, whose term expires Dec. 2012.

The three resigning Board members have agreed to fulfill their responsibilities until the effective date of their resignations.

Read the Regents' letter to the EMU community here (PDF file).

Read the Regents' letter to Governor Granholm here (PDF file).

Eastern Michigan University is a public, comprehensive university that offers programs in the arts, sciences and professions. EMU prepares students with the intellectual skills and practical experiences to succeed in their career and lives, and to be better citizens.

Editor's Note: Looking for an expert source for a story? Check out EMU's Eastern Experts online at www.emich.edu/univcomm/easternexperts.

EMU Home | University Communications Home