June 25, 2002
CONTACT: Ward Mullens


YPSILANTI - The Eastern Michigan University Board of Regents granted emeritus status to five faculty members at its regular meeting June 25.
To be awarded emeritus status, faculty must have served EMU for at least 15 years and be nominated for emeritus faculty status upon retirement.

Faculty granted emeritus status are:

Kaaren Strauch Brown, professor, department of social work (1978-2002). Brown, of Ann Arbor, retired April 30, 2002, after 24 years of service to EMU. Her teaching and administrative efforts played a pivotal role in the national accreditation of the graduate and undergraduate programs in social work. Among the many honors awarded to Strauch-Brown were EMU’s Outstanding Faculty Award; the EMU Women’s Association Award for the Advancement of Women; and Social Worker of the Year from the Huron Valley unit of the National Association of Social Workers. Strauch-Brown earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin in 1956 and her master’s from the University of Michigan in 1967.

Jagdish T. Danak, associate professor, department of management (1969-2002). Danak, of Ann Arbor, retires June 30, 2002, after 33 years of service to EMU. Working with colleagues from both the College of Business and the university, Danak helped develop the Language and World Business Program and the Faculty Senate, the forerunner of EMU’s Faculty Council. Danak earned bachelor’s degrees from the University of
Bombay in 1958, and Lamar University in 1960; a master’s degree from North Texas State University in 1962; and his doctoral degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1970.

Annette Martin, professor, department of communication and theatre arts (1963-2002). Martin, of Brighton, has been part of the EMU community for nearly 44 years. She began her relationship by earning an undergraduate degree from EMU in 1961. She returned to EMU in 1963 to teach in the interpretation/performance studies arena. Martin retires Sept. 1, 2002. Martin’s distinguished career includes the Distinguished Faculty in Research and Creative Activity; the Leslie Coger Award for Distinguished Performance; and the Graduate Faculty Research Award. She earned her master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin in 1963, and her doctoral degree from the University of Michigan in 1974.

Nelly Ullman, professor, department of mathematics (1963-2002). Ullman, of AnnArbor, retired March 29, 2002, after 39 years of service to EMU. She was actively involved in departmental and university level committees and councils; instrumental in the development of major, minor and graduate degree concentrations in statistics; and a driving force in the creation and maintenance of the joint program in actuarial science and economics. Ullman earned her bachelor’s degree from Hunter College in 1945, a master’s degree from Columbia University in 1948, and a doctoral degree from the University of Michigan in 1969.

Mary Yorke, assistant professor, department of mathematics (1982-2002). Yorke, of South Lyon, retires Aug. 31, 2002, after 20 years of service to EMU. She most recently collected, summarized and analyzed the mathematic department’s alumni survey. Yorke earned a master’s degree from Kansas State University.