Oct. 8, 2002
Contact: Ward Mullens

Eastern Michigan University to Honor Ten Exceptional Educators
During Annual Salute to Excellence Convocation Oct. 12

YPSILANTI – Almost every high school student who enters college can point to one high school teacher or counselor who was influential in helping them to succeed.

Eastern Michigan University will honor 10 such educators with Exceptional Educator Awards during the annual Convocation of Excellence Saturday, Oct. 12, 10:30 a.m. , at Pease Auditorium. The event, which is free and open to the public, recognizes freshmen who have received academic scholarships or athletic grants. The Class of 2006’s Presidential Scholars also will be formally introduced to the University community.

“The Exceptional Educator Awards grew out of discussions with our incoming students,” said Courtney McAnuff, vice president for enrollment services. Many of the students indicated that they wished there was a way for them to recognize their high school teachers and counselors who made a difference in their lives. The 10 individuals being honored were selected from more than 700 nominations.”

Incoming freshmen were invited to submit nominations during the fall orientation program. Judges selected the winners based upon the strength of the nomination and the number of times candidates were nominated.

“It’s a testament to all of the nominees that more than 700 students took the time to complete the nomination form,” McAnuff said. The awards will become an annual event.

The ten Exceptional Educator Award recipients are:
Tim Heim, guidance counselor, Saline High School; nominated by Christopher Brown, William Collin, Lucy Allbaugh, Nathan Bomey and Nicole Cooper.

Marilyn McCormick, performing arts teacher, Cass Tech High School (Detroit); nominated by Lakesha Raymore and Keanna Metoyer.

Judy Hale, English teacher, Jonesville High School; nominated by Jessica Cole and DeNell Sowdey.

Kay Hughes, English teacher, Marian High School (Bloomfield Hills); nominated by Lorianne Snook.

Jim Orme, counselor, Romulus High School; nominated by Patrice Beasley and Tiffany Ash.

Joseph Gerhardinger, calculus teacher, Notre Dame Academy (Toledo); nominated by Emily Uhe.

Faye Voltadoros, Japanese teacher, Lakeview High School (Battle Creek); nominated by George Dennison and David Brown.

Pamela Hall, counselor, Grand Blanc High School; nominated Erin Carley and Lindsay Barber.

Amy Six-King, government teacher, Owosso High School; nominated by Sarah Shaaban.

Peter Durbin, English teacher, Blissfield High School; nominated by Zachary Schroeder.
Recipients of the awards will receive a plaque and a gift certificate.

Eastern Michigan University ( is a four-year, comprehensive metropolitan university committed to the needs of its students and communities through teaching, research and service. EMU offers more than 200 programs in the arts, sciences and professionals through traditional classroom settings, on-site continuing education classes and on-line courses. EMU is the fifth largest university in Michigan, serving 24,000 students from around the world and offers undergraduate, graduate, specialist, doctoral and certificate programs.