Sept. 30, 2003
CONTACT: Carol Anderson

EMU Presents First-Ever Institutional Values Awards

YPSILANTI – Eastern Michigan University recognized its first-ever Institutional Values Award winners during a fall convocation Sept. 26 in Pease Auditorium. Of the six awards, four recognized individuals and two honored teams.

This institution-wide award program, implemented by President Samuel A. Kirkpatrick in April, recognizes the exemplary efforts of individuals or teams working to support the EMU mission, guiding principles and institutional values.

“Our first Institutional Values Award winners are truly EMU champions who make our institution an absolutely outstanding place to work and learn,” said Martha Tack, EMU senior executive for presidential initiatives. “Their loyalty, hard work and devotion to excellence are refreshing; and their enthusiasm for everything about EMU is contagious.”

Each of the awards carries a $3,500 monetary stipend, funded by the EMU Foundation. Team awards are divided equally among the members.
The awards, winners and their hometowns are:

Continuous Improvement, Innovation and/or Customer Service
Akosua Slough of Ypsilanti was cited for her contributions for creating a new post-baccalaureate database system, which allows student information to be produced in different reports and forms, and provides the ability to automate and track student progress through the post-baccalaureate program.

Contribution to the Quality of Student Learning Experiences
Members of the Developmental Mathematics Program won the award. The program provides support for lower division mathematics courses and provides placement testing for more than 1,200 students a year. Team members are:
Elaine Richards of Saline
Karen Holmes of Canton
Jill Nugent of Canton
Jo Warner of Ann Arbor
Nancy Oestrike of Ypsilanti
Mary Jo St. Louis of Plymouth
Shelley Walker of Saline
Fred Hughes of Whitmore Lake

Diversity, Human Dignity, Multicultural/International Involvement
Kathleen Russell of Ann Arbor received the award for her many humanitarian efforts, which include advising the Tri-Pride, a student group for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered (LGBT) social work students; developing and implementing the Role Models and Mentors Program for LGBT persons; and securing funding to create Project YES: Youth for Equality and Safety. The purpose of Project YES is to eliminate homophobia and heterosexism in Michigan’s youth-specific social service systems.

Public Engagement and Community Service
Elvia R. Krajewski-Jaime of Ypsilanti was honored for her focus on developing and leading international experiences for EMU students, including the International Exchange Programs for Mexico and England.

Support Role in Teaching, Learning, Scholarship, Research and/or Creative Activity
Gerald Hartenburg of Ypsilanti received the award for his expertise in maintaining and repairing specialized lab equipment which saves the department countless dollars.

Team Excellence
The Undergraduate Symposium XXIII Cross-Divisional Team won for its efforts in organizing the Undergraduate Symposium this past spring. The symposium showcases research, creativity, writing and performance by students from all five colleges. Members are:
Dennis Beagen of Northville
Rita Abent, of Ypsilanti
Nina Contis of Saline
John Cooper of Clinton
Steve Dotson of Chelsea
Patrick Doyle of Howell
Susan Gardner of Ann Arbor
Cindy Hall of Milan
Jill Hunsberger of Ann Arbor
Wendy Kivi of Ann Arbor
Sally Lucas of Ypsilanti
Paul Majeske of Ypsilanti
Steve Martin of Ypsilanti
Bernard Miller of Milan
Michelle Nelson of Ypsilanti
Carl Ojala of Ann Arbor
Ron Podell of Ypsilanti
Barry Pyle of Ypsilanti
Laura Ramm of Ypsilanti
Linda Sanderson of Wayne
Marilyn Szymanski of Ann Arbor