June 13, 2003
CONTACT: Summer Wilhelm

EMU's Sipe nominated for CASE Professor of the Year

YPSILANTI - Rebecca Sipe, associate professor in the department of English language and literature at Eastern Michigan University, has been nominated for the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) 2003 U.S. Professors of the Year Program.

The program, which was established in 1981, recognizes outstanding professors for their dedication to teaching, commitment to students and innovative instructional methods.

CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, which has hosted the final round of judging and also sponsors the cash awards, make awards in four categories based on the Carnegie classification. Those are: Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor; Outstanding Community Colleges Professor; Outstanding Doctoral and Research Universities Professor; and Outstanding Master's Universities and Colleges Professor.

Nominees are judged by demonstrated excellence in the following areas: impact on and involvement with undergraduate students; scholarly approach to teaching and learning; contributions to undergraduate education in the institution, community and profession; and support from colleagues and current and former undergraduate students.

Linda Pritchard, dean of EMU’s College of Arts and Sciences, nominated Sipe for the Outstanding Master’s Universities and Colleges Professor award.

"She demonstrates that the best teachers facilitate an active learning environment," said Pritchard. "Within her first three years here, she won the highest award given at EMU for teaching, the Ronald W. Collins Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award. To watch her work is to feel the mutual respect and spiritual connection a fine teacher has with her students."

National winners receive $5,000, a framed certificate of recognition, an invitation and opportunity to speak at the November awards ceremony and other honorary celebrations in Washington, D.C. and national media coverage. State winners also receive media coverage, a certificate and an awards ceremony invitation.