Dec. 18, 2001

CONTACT: Ward Mullens





YPSILANTI - Eastern Michigan University graduate and former United States Secretary of Transportation Rodney Slater has been named as one of six recipients of the NCAA's Silver Anniversary Award.

The Silver Anniversary Award recognizes former student-athletes who have distinguished themselves since completing their college athletic careers 25 years ago. The six recipients will be honored Sunday, Jan. 13 at a dinner during the annual NCAA Convention in Indianapolis.

Slater served as Secretary of Transportation under former President Bill Clinton from 1992-2000. The Cabinet department for which Slater was responsible had 100,000 employees and an annual budget of $60 billion from 1997-2001. Since leaving office he has worked at Patton Boggs LLP, in Washington, D.C.

Slater also was the first African American head of the Federal Highway Administration.

At Eastern Michigan University, Slater lettered in varsity football and was the top scolar-athlete on the the team in 1976. While serving as captain of the football team at EMU, Slater rushed for 562 yards and finished his career with 1,330 yards. He also was a member of EMU's 1977 national forensics champion team and was a two-time all-Mid-American Conference academic choice.

Other honorees are: Richard C. Chapman, Augustana College (South Dakota), basketball, president and chief executive officer of a compensation and benefits consulting company; Maurice "Bo" Ellis, Marquette University, basketball, men's head basketball coach at Chicago State University; Herman R. Frazier, Arizona State University, track and field, director of athletics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham; Betsy King, Furman University, golf and basketball, professional golfer; and John Naber, University of Southern California; swimming and diving; operator of Naber and Associates, a firm that provides motivational speakers and other services.

The award winners were selected by the NCAA Honors Committee, which is composed of eight athletics administrators at member institutions and nationally distinguished citizens who are former student athletes. Potential candidates are nominated by NCAA member institutions and selected by the committee.