If you were assaulted by someone that you know, you may be at risk of being stalked or harassed by the perpetrator or by friends or family of the perpetrator. If the person who assaulted you was a stranger, the chances of being stalked by him/her are less, but still possible.
On this page, you can find information on Michigan's Anti-Stalking Laws, what to do if you are being stalked, and what a Personal Protection Order (PPO) is.
- What are Michigan State Anti-Stalking Laws?
- What do I do if I am being stalked?
What is a Personal Protection Order (PPO)?
This is a crime defined as a willful course of conduct involving repeated or continuing harassment of another individual that causes the victim to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, threatened, harassed, or molested, and that would cause a reasonable person to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, threatened, harassed, or molested. This crime is a misdemeanor punishable up to one year in prison or up to a $1,000 fine or both. If the victim is a minor and the perpetrator is 5 or more years older than the victim, this crime is a felony punishable up to 5 years in prison or up to a $10,000 fine or both. [MCL 750.411h].
This is a crime that includes the factors listed above plus one of the following aggravating factors: making credible threat of injury, violating a Personal Protection Order (PPO), violating a bond condition, or having a previous conviction for stalking. This crime is a felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison or up to a $10,000 fine. If the victim is a minor and the perpetrator is 5 or more years older than the victim, this crime is a felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and up to a $15,000 fine. [MCL 750.411i].
Report harassing/uninvited contact to your local police department:
Even if the police cannot take any action at first, reporting the incident will begin to document the history of stalking.
Plan for your safety:
Tell your co-workers and neighbors what is going on. Get a cellular phone if you can. Teach your children how to call 911. Consult The Women’s Resource Center or SafeHouse Center for safety planning that is specific to your situation.
Keep a log of all the harassing incidents:
Include the time, place, and description of the incident, as well as any witnesses to the incident.
Get a Personal Protection Order (PPO):
You can fill the paperwork out on your own, have someone at SafeHouse Center assist you, or retain an attorney.
A PPO is an order from the court to the stalker that prohibits certain activity. If the stalker violated the order they could be sentenced up to 93 days in jail and/or a $500 fine.
A PPO Can Prohibit the Stalker From Any or All of the Following: Entering the property where you live or work, appearing within your sight, following you, assaulting you, threatening you, calling you, possessing or buying a gun, or any other conduct that interferes with your personal liberty.
If you currently have, or have had in the past, one or more of the following relationships to the perpetrator: spouse, dating, have a child in common, or reside in the same household OR if the stalker is a stranger and has committed any of the prohibited behaviors listed in the above paragraph.
The paperwork is available at the county clerk’s office. You can fill it out on your own, have someone at SafeHouse Center help you, or retain an attorney. You can request that the PPO be signed by the judge without having to go to trial. However, the judge may order a trial in order to show good cause for why the PPO should be issued. The PPO goes into effect immediately when the judge signs it. If there was no trial and the PPO was signed by the judge, the stalker will have 14 days after they are served to request a trial. If the judge does not sign the PPO, they are required to give a written reason for why they did not sign it.