Eastern Michigan University logo
direct edit
Office of the Provost

Provost's Wednesday Briefing for January 10, 2018

Michael McVey Elected to the Board of Directors for the International Society for Technology in Education

Congratulations to Dr. Michael McVey, Professor, Teacher Education, on his election to the Board of Directors for the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE).  ISTE is a nonprofit organization that works with the global education community to accelerate the use of technology to solve tough problems and inspire innovation. The board provides strategic leadership and fiduciary oversight as it works to ensure progress toward organizational goals. In this leadership role, Michael will help to guide the development of educational technology policy both nationally and internationally. 

David Winters Named Department Head of Special Education

After serving as for one year as the Interim, we are pleased to announce Dr. David Winters has been named the permanent Department Head for Special Education.  We are grateful for the leadership he has displayed during his time as interim and look forward to his continued service.  Congratulations, David!

2018 Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration

The 2018 Celebration of Martin Luther King’s life and legacy begins this week.  The theme of this year’s celebration is, “Live the Legacy: Look Back, Be Present, Move Forward.”  We encourage all members of the Eastern community to participate in the academic programs, performances, and presentations throughout the week as your schedules permit.  Visit Eastern’s MLK website for additional information and the full schedule of events.

World Premier of Me, The "Other” – A Documentary Film

The documentary film, Me, The "‘Other” featuring Eastern Michigan University students is scheduled for release on MLK Day.  The filmmakers set out to tell twelve stories about race, religion, sexuality, gender, relationships, and immigration… but ended up telling much more.  Those who have been fortunate to see an advanced screening have described the film as “humorous and heartwarming; the voice and vision of our students and our world community.”  I encourage you to spread the word and consider attending the premiere screening.

Me, The Other – A Documentary Film
Monday, January 15 @ 7 p.m.
Michigan Theater
603 Liberty Street
Ann Arbor, MI

Eastern Partners with the Oliver Art Center on Artist in Residency Program

The College of Arts and Sciences is collaborating with the Michigan Legacy Art Park, the Oliver Art Center, and Villa Barr, Novi to sponsor multiple scholar/artists to spend creative time at the Parsons Center.  The first residency will take place in Spring 2018 and is designed to support interdisciplinary projects which culminate in a public presentation of the work.  Interested artists/scholars may contact Sandra Murchison, Director of Eastern’s School of Art and Design at 734.487.1268 or [email protected]  Additional information on this partnership may be found online.

Distinguished Achievement Awards – Nominate Your Favorite Staff Person! 

We are excited to announce a new set of awards to honor Eastern Staff members.  Nominations for the Distinguished Achievement Recognition Awards will be accepted from January 16–31, 2018, via EAGLESYNC.  The Distinguished Achievement Recognition Awards are divided into four categories:

  • Student Engagement and Success Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Community Engagement and Service Award

More information, nomination guidelines, and nomination submission for the Distinguished Achievement Recognition Awards is available online. 

Call for Nominations: 2017 Ronald W. Collins Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Ronald W. Collins Distinguished Faculty Awards for tenure-track and tenured faculty are annually offered in the following six categories:Teaching I, Teaching II, Research I, Research II, Creative Activity, and Service.  Nominations will be accepted through January 24, 2018.  Information on the nomination process and award guidelines are available online.

Faculty Research Fellowship and Sabbatical Leaves 

Full-time faculty are encouraged to submit applications for Faculty Research Fellowship (FRF) awards and/or Sabbatical Leave Awards.  Applicants must use the online proposal submission portal to upload their application materials.  Submit your applications before the January 31. 2018 deadline!

Josephine Nevins Keal Fellowship:  Call for Applications

The Commission on Women is pleased to announce the Josephine Nevins Keal Professional Development Fund to assist female faculty members in advancement of professional competence and rank. Applications for this fund are due by February 15, 2018.  Fellowships will generally be limited to a maximum of $400 -$800.  Please forward completed application materials to Kate Mehuron, Chair, Commission on Women, at [email protected]