

## Office of International Admissions

## English Proficiency – Country and Territory Exemptions – Graduate Applicants

Graduate student applicants who have completed a bachelor's or master's degree in the following countries and territories are not required to submit English proficiency test scores when applying for admission to a graduate program. We have documented that, in the countries and territories listed below, English is the primary language of instruction.

Applicants who have completed coursework in a country or territory not listed, but who have sat for IB, AP or A-levels exams or studied at an institution with U.S. accreditation, should contact International Admissions to determine eligibility. Contact International Admissions at <a href="mailto:international.admissions@emich.edu">international.admissions@emich.edu</a> to request your ESL testing waiver.

Graduate applicants with credentials from these countries and territories must submit official credentials to have the English proficiency test requirement waived. Individual programs reserve the right to request verification of proficiency from international applicants, including those who studied in the countries listed below. Programs may also require a higher level of proficiency than the Graduate School. Consult the Graduate Catalog to find the admissions criteria for your program. These policies apply only to graduate program applicants. Students applying to undergraduate programs should refer to the policy found here: http://www.emich.edu/admissions/international/documents/esl\_country\_exemptions\_ug.pdf

Anguilla
Antigua and Barbuda

American Samoa

Australia Bahamas Barbados Bay Islands Belize

Bermuda

Botswana

British Antarctic Territory British Indian Ocean

Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Darussalam Cameroon

Canada (except Quebec)
Cayman Islands
Christmas Island
Cook Islands
Dominica
Ethiopia

Falkland Islands

Fiji The Gambia

Ghana Gibraltar Grenada Guernsey Guyana India Isle of Man Jamaica Jersey Kenya Kiribati Lesotho Liberia Malawi

Malta

Marshall Islands
Mauritius
Micronesia
Montserrat
Namibia
Nauru
New Zealand
Nigeria
Niue
Norfolk Islands

Northern Mariana Islands

Palau

Papua New Guinea Pitcairn Islands Philippines Republic of Ireland Saint Croix
Saint Helena
Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Solomon Islands South Africa

South Georgia and the South

Sandwich Islands

Swaziland The Bahamas Tokelau Tanzania Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago
Turks and Caicos Islands

Uganda

U.S. Virgin Islands United Kingdom

(England, Scotland, Wales)

United States Vanuatu Zambia Zimbabwe