

Office of International Admissions

English Proficiency – Country and Territory Exemptions – Undergraduate Applicants Students who have completed high school diploma, bachelor's degree, master's degree in the following countries and territories are not required to submit English proficiency test scores when applying for admission to an undergraduate program. We have documented that, in these countries and territories, English is the primary language of instruction.

Applicants who have completed coursework in a country or territory not listed, but who have sat for IB, AP or A-levels exams or studied at an institution with U.S. accreditation should contact International Admissions to determine eligibility. Contact International Admissions at <u>international.admissions@emich.edu</u> to request your ESL testing waiver.

Undergraduate student applicants with credentials from these countries and territories must submit official credentials in order to have the English proficiency test requirement waived. These policies apply only to undergraduate program applicants. Students applying to graduate programs should refer to the policy found here: <u>http://www.emich.edu/admissions/international/documents/esl_country_exemptions_gr.pdf</u>

American Samoa Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Australia Bahamas Barbados **Bay Islands** Belize Bermuda Botswana **British Antarctic Territory** British Indian Ocean Territory British Virgin Islands Brunei Darussalam Cameroon Canada (except Quebec) **Cayman Islands** Christmas Island Cook Islands Dominica Ethiopia Falkland Islands Fiji The Gambia Ghana Gibraltar

Grenada Guernsey Guyana Isle of Man Jamaica Jersey Kenya Kiribati Lesotho Liberia Malawi Malta Marshall Islands Mauritius Micronesia Montserrat Nauru New Zealand Nigeria Niue Norfolk Islands Northern Mariana Islands Palau Papua New Guinea Philippines **Pitcairn Islands Republic of Ireland**

Saint Croix Saint Helena Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia St. Vincent and the Grenadines Sevchelles Sierra Leone Solomon Islands South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands Swaziland The Bahamas Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago **Turks and Caicos Islands** Uganda **U.S.** Virgin Islands United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales) **United States** Vanuatu Zambia Zimbabwe