Eastern Michigan University

CASAC: University Accreditation and the Role of CAS Assessment of Student Learning

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

  • Criterion One: Mission
  • Criterion Two: Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct
  • Criterion Three: Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
  • Criterion Four: Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
    • 4B: Demonstrates a commitment to educational achievement and improvement through ongoing assessment of student learning.
  • Criterion Five: Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

Specialized Professional Associations

Some programs have outside accrediting bodies, specialized professional associations that evaluate programs based on particular criteria (e.g., National Council of Teachers of Math; National Science Teachers Association)

University Assessment Coordination Meeting

(Represents the "Unit," which includes the groups below)

College of Arts and Sciences
College of Business
College of Education
College of Health and Human Services
College of Technology
EMU Library
General Education
Student Support Services

College of Art and Sciences Assessment Committee (CASAC): The focus of this committee is on student learning.

Departments (18); Degree programs: Baccalaureates (84); Graduate (57); special accreditation (56)

African American Studies
Communication, Media and Theatre Arts
Computer Science
English Languages and Literature
Geography and Geology
History and Philosophy
Music and Dance
Physics and Astronomy
Political Science
Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology
Women's and Gender Studies
World Languages

Make a Gift
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube
  • linked in
  • Blog EMU