About the Office of Campus and Community Writing

Campus and Community Writing celebrates, supports and empowers writing and writing instruction through outreach on EMU's campus and into the broader community.

The Office of Campus and Community Writing houses these campus-wide initiatives and programs:

  • University Writing Center
  • Writing Across the Curriculum
  • Eastern Michigan Writing Project
  • Disciplinary Literacies Initiative
  • Family Literacy Initiative
  • Cognitive Coaching (in partnership with the Faculty Development Center)

We work in partnership with:

  • Faculty Development Center
  • Washtenaw Intermediate School District
  • 826michigan

We actively seek new partners with community and educational groups in southeastern Michigan.

About the Director

Ann M. Blakeslee, Ph.D., professor of English, directs the Writing Across the Curriculum program and the University Writing Center at EMU. Professor Blakeslee previously served as Director of Undergraduate Studies for the university, and she co-chaired the implementation of the General Education program. She has published extensively on a range of topics, including writing in the disciplines, writing in the workplace, research methods, audience and genre. In 2007, she guest-edited a special issue of the Journal of Business and Technical Communication (July) on writing in the disciplines, and she published, with Cathy Fleischer, Becoming a Writing Researcher (Erlbaum, 2007), a textbook on qualitative research methods. Her book, Interacting with Audiences: Social Influences on the Production of Scientific Writing, was published in 2001 by Lawrence Erlbaum. She recently received the Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research from the Society for Technical Communication, and she was named a Fellow of the Association of Teachers of Technical Writing in 2011.

Professor Blakeslee currently serves as treasurer and as a member of the executive committee for the Association of Teachers of Technical Writing (ATTW). She has served on numerous national committees and boards, including the research grants committee for the Society for Technical Communication (STC), the Braddock Award committee for the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), and the executive committee, as vice president, of the Council for Programs in Technical and Scientific Communication (CPTSC). She is also a reviewer and editorial board member for several academic journals.

Skip Section Navigation