Eastern Michigan University

COVID-19 Update: The latest news and guidance for students, faculty and staff.

direct edit

Peet-Mayor Endowed Chemistry Award

This award is presented each year to the top graduating chemistry or biochemistry major, and it consists of a monetary prize.  The recipient must have a minimum overall 3.2 GPA and have completed at least 45 hours at EMU, including 18 hours in Chemistry.  From its inception through 2008, it was known as the Bert W. Peet Scholarship Award.  For the first twenty years of its existence, outstanding juniors were also eligible to receive this award.




Bert W. Peet

Alice Riley Mayor

2018 Jesse Wotring

Dr. Bert PeetBert Peet was born in Chesaning, Michigan in 1871.  Professor Peet was a man of many interests.  Though his career passion was focused on chemistry, his studies and teachings included botany, zoology, and he was a champion for food purity and safety.


Professor Peet, educated at both Michigan State University and the University of Michigan, joined Michigan Normal College (now Eastern Michigan University) in 1899.  Professor Peet was a driving force behind the creation of the chemistry club in 1910.  By 1916 Professor Peet was the chair of the Chemistry Department.  He maintained his research throughout his teaching career and published in scientific journals and books.


Prior to the name Eagles being adopted by EMU, the sports teams were known as the Hurons.  This name was chosen as the result of a contest.  Professor Peet, along with two other faculty members, selected the name Hurons from the entries and it was officially adopted in 1929.


In 1941, Professor Peet retired from his role as Chemistry Department chair and went on to work for the following three years as a control chemist at the Willow Run bomber plant, where the B-24 Liberator bomber was produced.  Professor Peet was married to Edna Hope Barr Peet.  He lived until the age of 96.





Alice Mayor was born on September 12, 1922 in Seneca Township, Michigan.  She grew up on a farm in Sand Creek, Michigan, graduating from astern Michigan University in 1945 with a degree in Home Economics and Chemistry.  She was the second recipient of the Bert W. Peet Scholarship Award, given to the outstanding graduating senior in Chemistry.  She went on graduate from Purdue University in 1947 was a Masters Degree in Chemistry.


She taught chemistry at the college level at Purdue, the University of Connecticut, the University of Rhode Island, the University of Akron, and several local Akron area high schools.  She was one of nine recipients of a National Chemistry Teacher of the Year Award in 1966 and served as Chairman of the Education Committee with the American Chemical Society for several years.


After retiring from teaching, she earned a bachelors degree in accounting at the University of Akron and worked as a CPA at Touche Ross and several local Akron businesses.  She was married to Rowland Mayor and had two sons, William and Thomas.






2017 Celeste Rousseau
2016 Jasmine Winzeler
2015 Mordechai Sadowsky
2014 Amanda L. Dewyer
2013 Hector E. Figueroa
2012 Ian M. Pendleton
2011 Tiffiny M. Micyus
2010 Louis A. Lello
2009 James P. Grinias
2008 Mark A. Lukowski
Claire E. Tornow
2007 Monica A. Bame
Benjamin F. Johnson
2006 Wan Hsin Lim
2005 Jennifer M. Stephens
2004 Paula M. Gutman
2003 Elizabeth J. Blaney
2002 Andrew J. Jones
2001 Hrant P. Hratchian
2000 Thomas D. Horvath
1999 Gerald D. Artman III
1998 Shelly M. Nixon
1997 Daniel J. Burnett
Ermelinda M. Harper
1996 Stephen Lee
1995 Christa Hughes
Andrew VanDemark
1994 Heather Smith
1993 David Baran
1992 Teresa Woodrum
1991 Janice Schuitman
1990 Donald Wall
1989 Brian Schwemmin
1988 Lori Czarnecki
1987 Paula Miles
1986 Yves Dardenne
1985 Pambos Shiafkos
1984 Joan Zimmerman
1983 Dan Cheney
Randy King
1982 John R. Schmidt
1981 Mary Hurless

Thomas Seder

1979 William Schulz
1978 Vicki McGuffin
1977 Norma Enderich
Bill Wallace
1976 David Berry
Bruce Schreiner
1975 Roger Miller
1974 Kenneth Smith
Kathy Saturday
1973 Ronald M. Hammuck
1972 Michael Ives
1971 David Tatman
1970 Timothy L. Luchsinger
1969 John Russo
1968 Gary Oosta
1967 Sharon Assenmacher
1966 Barry Jones
1965 Sandra J. Lobbestael
1964 Thomas Dobbelstein
Stephen Schullery
1963 Thomas Dobbelstein
1962 Thomas Bleakley
Joseph Knox
Earnest Kurginski
1961 Ernest Kurginski
James W. Shaw
1960 Robert Asperger
James W. Shaw
1959 Sandra MacPherson
Sylvia Taylor
Charles Welle
1958 Charles Welle
1957 Dolores Hartman
Harold Nass
1956 John Ellis
1955 Barbara May
1954 Barbara May
1953 Alvin Schalge
Marilyn Gonser Schalge
1952 Jack Price
Louis Prieskorn
1951 Milo Danzeisen
John Moyer
1950 Margaret Stanford Pattson
Robert Theriault
1949 Jack Peacock
Vincent Pentiuk
1948 Jack Peacock
1947 Mary Spence Conley
1946 (No award given)
1945 Alice Riley Mayor
1944 George Reed

The Department of Chemistry is part of the College of Arts & Sciences, 214 Pray-Harrold