direct edit

About Us

Eastern Michigan University Information Assurance Program and Cyber Defense is a Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance, sponsored by the National Security Agency.  Our course work is mapped at Committee on National Security Systems at the 4011 and 4012 Standards.

The Information Assurance and Cyber Defense Program at Eastern Michigan University is proud to be a partner in the National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) focused on cybersecurity awareness, education, training, and professional development.   The EMU IACD Program is committed to awareness and competence across the nation to develop an agile, highly skilled workforce capable of responding to a dynamic and rapidly developing array of cyber threats.

Our course work at the bachelors and graduate level meets the NICE Cybersecurity Workforce Framework and puts fourth a working taxonomy and common lexicon that can be overlaid onto any organization’s existing occupational structure.  Our course framework addresses emerging work requirements to help meet and exceed the National need for cyber security professionals.  IACD Program will lead graduates to career opportunities with the federal government or private industry.  Each concentration has a shared Foundation area of study.

The NICE Framework organizes cybersecurity into seven high-level categories, each comprising several specialty areas. This organizing structure is based on extensive job analyses that groups functions into the seven categories.

1. Securely Provision:

Specialty areas concerned with Conceptualizing, designing, and building secure ID systems, with responsibility for some aspect of systems’ development

  • Information Assurance Compliance
  • Software Engineering
  • Enterprise Architecture
  • Technology Demonstration
  • Systems Requirements Planning
  • Test and Evaluation
  • Systems Development

2. Operate and Maintain: 

Specialty areas responsible for providing the support, administration, and maintenance necessary to ensure effective and efficient IT system performance and Security

  • Data Administration
  • Information System Security Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Customer Service and Technical Support
  • Network Services
  • System Administration
  • Systems Security Analysis

3. Protect and Defend: 

Specialty areas responsible for the identification, analysis, and mitigation of threats to internal IT systems or networks

  • Computer Network Defense
  • Incident Response
  • Computer Network Defense Infrastructure Support
  • Security Program Management
  • Vulnerability Assessment and Management

4. Investigate: 

Specialty areas responsible for the investigation of cyber events and/or crimes of IT systems, networks, and digital evidence.

  • Investigation
  • Digital Forensics

5.  Operate and Collect

Specialty areas responsible for the highly specialized collection of cybersecurity information that may be used to develop intelligence.

  • Collection Operations
  • Cyber Operations Planning
  • Cyber Operations

6. Analyze: 

Specialty areas responsible for highly specialized review and evaluation of incoming cybersecurity information to determine is usefulness for intelligence.

  • Cyber Threat Analysis
  • All Source Intelligence
  • Exploitation Analysis
  • Targets

7. Support: 

Specialty areas providing support so that others may effectively conduct their cybersecurity work.

  • Legal Advise and Advocacy
  • Strategic Planning and Policy Development
  • Education and Training

See jobs associated with the seven specialty areas. Go to the CSRC government site.