Commission Members

Picture of Ronald Woods

Ronald C Woods, Chair

I am a Professor of Africology and African American Studies, and have held various administrative posts during my 41 years at EMU. A former poverty lawyer, I have served on several university-wide, diversity-focused committees  I am honored to have served as President of the Black Faculty and Staff Association when it first issued a comprehensive set of recommendations for advancing affirmative action at EMU in the 1980’s.

Personal Goal

Eliminate antiquated structural barriers for achieving best practices and equity and inclusion policy at EMU.

Photo of Devika Dibya Choudhuri

Devika Dibya Choudhuri, Vice Chair

I believe oppression is trauma echoing across generations in the lives of individuals and communities. As a counseling professor preparing students to serve diverse populations competently, a counselor working with trauma, and a member of the EMU community, I am honored to serve on the President’s Commission for Diversity and Inclusion.

Personal Goal

To facilitate a healing process for the EMU Community, while building towards an inclusive, equitable and responsive campus.

Photo of Sharon Abraham

Sharon Abraham

As the Director of the Office of Diversity and Affirmative Action, I am responsible for ensuring the University is in compliance with equal opportunity laws.  That includes serving as a resource to the campus community on matters related to diversity, inclusion and equity, and conducting trainings and workshops on diversity related matters.  The diversity office also serves as an internal resource for students, staff, faculty and applicants who may have concerns about possible discrimination or harassment.

Personal Goal

To educate all stakeholders about the educational, economic, and social benefits of diversity, equity and inclusion

Photo of Steven Bryant

Steven Bryant

I am the newest CDI commissioner and joined the EMU community as Director of Diversity and Community Involvement on June 2, 2017. I was the Director of Diversity and Inclusion at Northwest Missouri State University since May 2011. I earned my bachelor's in public health education and health promotion from Central Michigan University, and my master's in higher education from Northwest Missouri State University.

Personal Goal

To inspire others to get involved with diversity, equity and inclusion implementation.

Jessica "Decky" Alexander

Jessica ‘Decky’ Alexander

Jessica ‘Decky’ Alexander is a professor of applied theatre and the Director of Academic Engagement Programs under Engage @ EMU.  Decky has spent the past 20 plus years since graduate school in the Ann Arbor/Ypsilanti Area. Both as both a performer and as a faculty member, Decky has used the medium of performance to give voice to underheard voices and communities.           

Personal Goal

To break down, implode, challenge and/or transform barriers to educational, economic or social access for those whose have been oppressed or repressed and/or culturally and socially marginalized.

Photo of Melissa Gentile

Melissa “Skeeter” Gentile

I am in my fourth year as the Head Softball Coach at EMU and I strongly believe in being a difference maker within my team, my department, my campus community, and beyond. I am passionate about issues of diversity and inclusion and am an active member of the Equality Coaching Alliance and the National Fastpitch Coaches Association.  

Personal Goal

To bring my passion and experience to this already talented group of people to best serve our campus community.

Photo of LaMarcus Howard

LaMarcus D. Howard

I am the Associate Director of EMU’s Disability Resource Center and a member of the Association of Higher Education and Disability. The importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion is a mainstream narrative in higher education, yet we must make our words our behavior, our behavior our character, and our character our values.

Personal Goal

Build a just, equitable, and inclusive EMU community by addressing systemic and cultural barriers.

Photo of Eric Reed

Eric Reed

I am the Coordinator of the EMU Opportunity Program, which is EMU’s first year program that provides an intensive summer enrichment experience and ongoing student support for first-year students. From my experience of performing poor in early college, I enjoy helping students from urban areas make it through college.

Personal Goal

Develop programs that provide equitable support to increase degree completion for underserved student populations at EMU.

Photo of Christine 'Kate' Mehuron

Christine ‘Kate’ Mehuron

I am the Chair of the EMU Women’s Commission, and Professor of Philosophy. I returned to faculty from the Associate Dean position in Fall 2017. As Associate Dean, I developed the College of Arts and Sciences faculty advisory committee on Diversity and Inclusion. This committee advises the CAS Dean on diversity and inclusion issues, as these pertain to the College.

Personal Goal

I plan, as a member of CDI, to assist the President to establish consistent, action-oriented, and ethical responses to campus diversity and inclusion issues.

Photo of Amber Morseau

Amber Morseau

I am the Graduate Assistant for the Center for Multicultural Affairs, currently pursuing my master's in higher education/student affairs. I graduated with a bachelor's in psychology and anthropology in April 2016 and have committed my work to serving students and the community through institutional change. I have made an impact as a leader in the Eastern Michigan community by conducting research on institutional racism and executing a plan to remove the Huron logo from EMU.

Personal Goal

To build a foundation to present to the president that will assist the administration in responding to racial crises on campus in an appropriate and timely manner.

Photo of Desmine Robinson

Desmine Robinson

My name is Desmine Robinson. My major is psychology, with a minor in creative writing. I am an English Tutor at Upward Bound and a Peer Educator on Gender-Based Violence for the Women’s Resource Center. I am the Secretary for Active Minds. I am a member of Washtenaw County’s My Brother’s Keeper Youth Council and I want to earn my PH.D in counseling psychology and work with those who live with anxiety and depression.

Personal Goal

My goal for the Diversity and Inclusion Commission is to mend the trust between the administrators/faculty/staff and students, to make our campus more inclusive and loving and to inspire my peers to get more involved in the political process whether it be on campus, in their community or on the national level.

Photo of Michael Tew

Michael Tew

I am Associate Provost/Associate Vice President for Academic Programming. I work with all dimensions of students’ academic experiences at EMU. I am additionally responsible for the implementation and continued development of the University’s Degree Completion and Retention Plan. Previously, I was Director of the EMU Equality Research Center.

Personal Goal  

To foster inclusion, equity, and success in all aspects of our students’ progress toward their degrees.

Photo of Steven Kwasny

Steven Kwasny

I am a Senior earning my Bachelors in Political Science and a Liberal Arts Transfer Student from WCC. I’ve held various student leadership positions on both campuses during my college adventure, which lead to creating several key institutional policy improvements and rulings to benefit current and future students. Being a first-generation college student, you learn quickly that opening yourself to various cultures is vital to enhance personal growth development, and embracing differences to one another’s uniquenesses is diversity’s wealth.

Personal Goal

Improve campus culture during these challenging times.

Former Commissioners

  • Adam Baraka
  • Officer Candace Dorsey
  • Gregory Peoples

Contact Us

Skip Section Navigation