The Planning Process

Consistent with the Guiding Principles, EMU’s actions and plans are based on best practices and informed by public health data and experts, including:

  • Directives from government agencies, including the State of Michigan;
  • Recommendations from various government agencies and professional organizations, including the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration; and
  • Advice from public health experts.

The campus public health standards were developed in mid-2020 by the University’s ad-hoc Public Health Work Group.

A Steering Committee provided recommendations to the President regarding safe on-campus operations. The Steering Committee included members of the Faculty Senate, employee unions, and campus public health experts.

Thank you to the individuals who served on these planning work groups, as well as to those who worked on various subcommittees supporting these efforts and the campus groups that provided valuable feedback, including the Faculty Senate, University Health and Safety Committee, Educational Environment & Facilities Committee, and other faculty input bodies.