Office of Financial Aid Office of Financial Aid

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)

The Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) is free assistance funded by the federal government and awarded by Eastern Michigan University.

The FSEOG is for undergraduates with exceptional financial need and low Expected Family Contribution (EFC). Priority consideration is given to students who receive the Federal Pell Grant, meet the priority deadline, and demonstrate the greatest financial need.

Recipients must meet all the eligibility criteria required for receipt of federal assistance, including Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).

Application Process

To apply for the FSEOG you must:

  • Complete the FAFSA. You will automatically be considered for this award if you qualify based on your EFC once Eastern Michigan University has received your FAFSA information.
  • List Eastern Michigan University school code (#002259) on the FAFSA.
How much will I receive?

According to federal guidelines, the maximum FSEOG award for an academic year is $4,000. The minimum award is $100. Due to limited funding, Eastern Michigan University cannot award the maximum allowed by program guidelines.

What do I need to do to keep my award?

You may receive FSEOG assistance as long as you maintain full-time enrollment and continue to meet all eligibility criteria, including Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP), for receipt of federal aid.

Please note that:

  • If your FAFSA information changes as a result of verification, your award may change.
  • You are no longer eligible for the FSEOG once you have earned your first bachelor's degree.