Education and promotion of scholarly research of 20th Century art deco and mid-century modern architecture is a priority for DAADS.  In 2000, the organization established an annual scholarship award of $1,000 to be awarded to one student in the Historic Preservation Program at Eastern Michigan University.  Scholarships have been awarded since 2001.

Since that time graduate students have been encouraged to study an art deco/streamline/moderne/mid-century modern building or 20th Century building material for any of their class-work projects.  Students submit a copy of their paper or project to the selection committee for review.  The selection committee is comprised of members of the Detroit Area Art Deco Society, and members of faculty of the Eastern Michigan University Historic Preservation Program.  The committee chooses the award-winning project/report on the basis of its scholarly contribution to the study of art deco and mid-century modern architecture.  DAADS also prints the paper (or a portion of it) in the society's elegant newsletter, The Modern.

Previous winners include:

  • 2001 - Ruth E. Mills, “The Right Material at the Right Time: Architectural Terra Cotta, 1870 – 1930”
  • 2002 – Lisa Jacobs, “The Livingstone Light: Detroit’s Only Art Deco Lighthouse”
  • 2003 – Mary Johanna Byrnes, “The Horace H. Rackham Educational Memorial Building”
  • 2004 – Karen Lisa Brandt, “The Ann Arbor Bus Depot”
  • 2005 – Daniel Gallieo, “Art Deco in the Small City: John H. Schaefer Building, Dearborn, Michigan”
  • 2006 – Tami Chapman-Slaats – “The Springfield Lofts on West Alexandrine in Detroit”
  • 2007 – Meredith Long – “A Thoroughly Modern Space for a Thoroughly Modern Style: The Art Deco Influence at Meadow Brook Hall”
  • 2008 – Elizabeth A. Palmer – “The Greening of the Motherhouse: Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, Monroe, Michigan”
  • 2009 – Christina Branham, “Monel Metal”
  • 2010 – Sara Ericson, “Lustron Homes of Southeastern Michigan: 60 Years Later”
  • 2011 - Hannah Loncharich, “The Knapp's Building: A New Vision of the Future”
  • 2012 – Lindsay Zaremski, “Small Town Grocery, Big City Optimism and Dreams: Analysis of a Metro Detroit Streamline Building”
  • 2013 - Kenneth Lingaur, “The United States Post Office: Clare Michigan’s Modern Treasure
  • 2014 - Janell Keyser, “The Washoe Theater: Anaconda, Montana”
  • 2015 – scholarship not offered
  • 2016 – William Johnson, “Survey of Techbuilt Houses in the United States”

Explore this Program

Program at a Glance

Read some facts on the Historic Preservation Program, which was founded in 1979.

Program History

Read about the history of the Historic Preservation Program and the accolades it has received.

Alumni Job Placements

Historic Preservation Program alumni work in a myriad of places.

Detroit Detroit Area Art Deco Society (DAADS) Scholarship Competition

Awarded annually since 2001.