Other Scholarship Opportunities

Stella and Rose Romanow Scholarships [PDF]

Library science in the 21st century is an interdisciplinary field drawing on and related to information science, education, historic preservation, information management, instructional design/learning theory and other fields taught at EMU.  The purpose of this scholarship is to support outstanding individuals engaged in the pursuit of managing, organizing, computer science and systems, classifying and disseminating information or cultural artifacts in libraries and related institutions/organizations. 

Tier I - Doctoral Student Fellowships
The fund supports tuition or stipends, generally in the range of $5,000–$12,000 per year.

Tier II - Master's/Specialist Student Stipends
A GPA of 3.2 or higher is generally expected.  The fund provides stipends, generally in the range of $1,000.00–$5000 per year.

Tier III - Undergraduate Incentive Grants
A GPA of 3.2 higher is generally expected.  The fund provides a stipend of $500–$1,500.

Emma Stevens Aging Research Award [PDF]

The Aging Studies Program has developed an award opportunity to support Eastern Michigan University student research in the field of aging. The purpose of this award is to provide financial support for a student who is conducting research in the area of dementia, Alzheimer's care or gerontology and to honor faculty members mentoring research at EMU.

Possible ways financial support can be used include, but are not limited to:

  • Research presentation at workshops or conferences
  • Participant payments
  • Transcription
  • Research software
  • Photocopies and other printing
  • Assessments

In order to be considered for the research award, a student must:

  • Be an undergraduate or graduate student at EMU who is conducting research in the aging field
  • Have identified a research mentor and submit a letter of support from that mentor with the application
  • Have a clearly developed research proposal and/or conference presentation acceptance documentation
  • Have a University Human Subjects Research Committee approval if research involves working with human participants
  • Attend the Aging Studies program Welcome Reception and Awards Ceremony in September of the year awarded where you and your faculty mentor will be honored
  • Submit a final summary upon completion of research and/or presentation that should include a project title, summary/abstract and discussion of how funds were spent; the student will deliver a short presentation to the Aging Studies Program faculty if possible.

Applications will be considered and evaluated on a rolling basis; please submit to Andrea Zakrasjek via email ([email protected]) at any time. Please be sure you include your name and "Aging Research Award Application" in the subject line of the email. Upon review of the application, awards will be determined by the Research Award Standing Committee until funding has been depleted and considered in the order received. This award fund typically has $1,000 available to fund research.

Please contact Dr. Zakrajsek if you have any questions regarding the research award process:

Andrea Zakrajsek
Director, Aging Studies Program
[email protected] 

The Aging Studies Program is part of the:

School of Health Sciences
313 Everett L. Marshall

Laura Bassi Scholarship

The Laura Bassi Scholarship was established by Editing Press in 2018 with the aim of providing editorial assistance to postgraduates and junior academics whose research focuses on neglected topics of study, broadly construed, within their disciplines. The scholarships are open to every discipline and are awarded three times per year: December, April, and August. The value of the scholarships are remitted through editorial assistance as follows:

Master’s candidates: $750
Doctoral candidates: $2,500
Junior academics: $500 

Please reach out to[email protected] with any questions.

Skip Section Navigation