direct edit

2019 Scholarship Recipients

Undergraduate Scholarships

  • Joseph Aninos - Fred J. Ericson Memorial Scholarship, Opperman Research Travel Fund
  • Kaitlyn Eby - Neil McLarty Merit Award Scholarship
  • Zachary Goins - Gavin Clabaugh and Margaret Engle Travel Award, Opperman History Student Travel Fund
  • Troy Masserant - Esther Walker Barnard History Endowed Scholarship
  • Alexandria Miller - Fred J. Ericson Memorial Scholarship
  • Olivia Stuck - Graves Scholarship for Study in the United Kingdom and Ireland, Elizabeth Warren Scholarship
  • Isaac Vanderwal - Elizabeth S. Adams Memorial Scholarship

Graduate Scholarships

  • Maha Casey - Marilyn R. Hill Scholarship, Opperman History Student Travel Fund
  • Alex Logan - Opperman Fellowship in History, Opperman Research Travel Fund
  • Holden Morter - Reinhard and Bert Wittke Travel Scholarship

JoEllen Vinyard History Essay Prize

  • Maxwell Harrison - “Blazing a Trail: The Michigan State Normal College, Local Collaboration, and the Transformation of Rural Education” - Winner
  • Lacey Opdycke - “The School of Hard Knocks: How Jacqueline Cochran Lobbied for Female Pilots in the Second World War” - Runner-up