direct edit

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

Application forms for the regular scholarships are distributed annually in December or January, and will be available on this page at that time. Forms will also be available in the Department office.
The JoEllen Vinyard Essay Prize is awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay in History. 

Instructions and Applications for 2019-20 Regular Undergraduate Scholarships

Guidelines and Rules for the JoEllen Vinyard History Essay Prize

Scholarships and Criteria

Elizabeth S. Adams Memorial Endowed Scholarship 

To support an undergraduate student studying History. Student must be in good academic standing.

Esther Walker Barnard History Endowed Scholarship

Amount of award in any given year will be distributed equally between History/Social Studies and Philosophy majors. 

Fred J. Ericson Memorial Endowed Scholarship

History major of senior class standing.

Friends of History and Philosophy Endowed Scholarship

For the benefit of majors in the Department of History and Philosophy at EMU. Alternates annually between History and Philosophy.

Neil McLarty Merit Award Endowed Scholarship

Junior/senior, major/minor in History. Preference given to applicants who have excelled in study of English history.

Elizabeth Warren Endowed Scholarship

Must have completed at least 12 hours of work at EMU. Must be full time student who has completed 9 hours of history if a junior or 15 hours of history if a senior.

George R. York Endowed Scholarship

Junior or senior majoring in education from the History Section. Must have financial need.

University- and College-Wide Awards

Additional scholarships may be found on the websites of the Provost, the College of Arts and Sciences, the Office of Financial Aid, Campus Life, and the EMU Women’s Association.