direct edit

Faculty and community partners receive awards

April 11, 2017

YPSILANTI – The EMU Nonprofit Leadership Alliance (NLA) presented Awards Banquetseveral awards to on-campus faculty as well as community partners at an awards event on Friday, April 7. The event was held by the NLA, Office of Academic Service-Learning, the Institute for the Study of Children, Families, and Communities, and the VISION Volunteer Center to celebrate community and university collaboration.

The NLA presented awards to the following individuals and organizations:

  • Outstanding NLA Board Member: Deb Polich
  • Outstanding NLA Campus Partner: Dr. Keon Pettiway
  • Outstanding NLA Community Partnership: Yodit Mesfin Johnson and NEW|Solutions for Nonprofits
  • John C. Herron NLA Student Leadership Awards: Avery Johnson and Alexa Timmreck

The NLA Student Funders Group also recognized the nonprofits they chose to receive grant funding: Food Gatherers and Growing Hope. Special thanks to the United Way of Washtenaw County and the EMU Student Government for funding the Student Funders Group program.

For more information about the NLA and how to become a Certified Nonprofit Professional, contact 734.487.1612 or [email protected].

About the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance
The Nonprofit Leadership Alliance is a national group of colleges, universities, and nonprofit organizations dedicated to educating, preparing, and certifying professionals to strengthen and lead nonprofit organizations.