Eastern Michigan University
direct edit

Undergraduate Scholarships

James H. Brickley Scholarship

Selection Criteria
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA.
  • Enrolled in Political Science Public Administration program.

Please also include a letter of intent explaining how the award will be used towards a Public Administration activity or education enrichment.

2011-2012 recipient: Robert Morford

David Hortin Scholarship in Public Law

Selection Criteria
  • Undergraduate student with a minimum GPA of 3.00.
  • Interest in Public Law or Mock Trial.

Applicants are asked to submit an essay of NO MORE than two typed pages describing how this scholarship will help further their public law interests and public law co-curricular activities.

2011-2012 recipient: Emily Gillingham

Richard Fierens Memorial Scholarship in Public Law

Selection Criteria
  • Junior Pre-Law student.
  • Involved in Mock Trial.
  • Political Science major.

Applicants must demonstrate dedication to leadership and service to fellow students.

2011-2012 recipient: Steven Hurbis

Robert O McWilliams Memorial Scholarship


Undergraduate students in any major in the Department of Political Science.

Selection Criteria
  • Overall GPA of at least 3.5.
  • Preference given to student with financial need as determined by the EMU Office of Financial Aid.

2011-2012 recipient: Kaitlyn Hill

Fr. Bernard J. O’Connor Scholarship in Civic Engagement

Selection Criteria
  • Undergraduate student with a minimum GPA of 3.20.
  • Successful completion of at least 18 credit hours at EMU at the time of the award.
  • Open to students in all colleges and majors.
  • Verifiable record of excellence in civic engagement within the student's program of study, as well as in co-curricular and/or extra-curricular activities.

Applicants are asked to submit an essay of NO MORE than three (3) typed pages describing their civic engagement projects or initiatives, through coursework, co-curricular activities, and academic/professional plans.

Applicants shall also include a short letter of recommendation from an EMU faculty member who is knowledgeable about their civic engagement work or efforts.

2011-2012 recipient: Robert Morford

Joe Ohren Student Internship Fund


Students completing an unpaid internship for academic credit in either the MPA program or one of the undergraduate majors in the department. Award may be used in summer, fall, or winter semesters.

Selection Criteria
  • Junior or senior status for undergraduates; at least 24 credits earned for MPA students.
  • GPA of at least 3.5 or, for undergraduates, 3.5 in the last 30 credit hours.

Applicants must have a letter of recommendation from a faculty member familiar with their work. They also must submit a personal statement of no more than two double-spaced pages outlining how the internship is integrated into their post-graduation career plans.

Political Science Study Abroad Scholarship


Undergraduates in any major in the Department of Political Science. Funds may be used for any program-related expenses.

Selection Criteria
  • At least 30 credit hours at EMU.
  • Overall GPA of at least 3.0.
  • Evidence of acceptance in a study abroad program.

Symposium Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF)


A $1,000 award to a student in any major in the department.

Selection Criteria
  • Outstanding academic record
  • Student must be matched with a faculty mentor on a research project.
  • Submit a description of the research project (1-2 double-spaced pages).
  • Faculty mentor must write a letter of support.
  • Student will present the research the following March at the Undergraduate Symposium.

2011-2012 recipient: Neil Weinberg