The Board of Regents is the governing body of Eastern Michigan University. Its current format was created when the State of Michigan ratified a new constitution Jan. 6, 1964. The Board is comprised of eight regents who are appointed to eight-year terms by the governor.

"Other institutions of higher education established by law having authority to grant baccalaureate degrees shall each be governed by a board of control which shall be a body corporate. The board shall have general supervision of the institution and the control and direction of all expenditures from the institution's funds. It shall, as often as necessary, elect a president of the institution under its supervision. He shall be the principal executive officer of the institution and be ex-officio a member of the board without the right to vote. The board may elect one of its members or may designate the president to preside at board meetings. Each board of control shall consist of eight members who shall hold office for terms of eight years, not more than two of which shall expire in the same year, and who shall be appointed by the governor by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. Vacancies shall be filled in like manner." — Michigan Constitution of 1963 (ratified 1964), Article 8

April 23, 2019 Board Meeting

  • EMU President Jim Smith presents Russell Kavalhuna, President of Henry Ford College, a resolution highlighting Henry Ford's 80th Anniversary. Pictured with EMU President Jim Smith and President Kavalhuna is Regent Treder Lang.