## RESOLUTION

## Recognition of the 2019 MLK Celebration "We the People: Standing Against Injustice"

WHEREAS, the 33rd annual MLK Celebration celebrated the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. with events and discussions that will encourage and support the Eastern community as it takes action to seek true justice across races, gender identities, cultures and socioeconomic strata; and,

WHEREAS, Eastern was honored to welcome keynote speaker Keith Boykin, political commentator and New York Times best-selling author, who spoke about Martin Luther King, Jr. and encouraged engagement and activism in response to injustice, inequality, and hate; and,

WHEREAS, U.S. Representative Debbie Dingell was awarded the University's Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award in honor of her lifelong dedication to the State of Michigan, Washtenaw County, and Eastern Michigan University as she advocates for women, children, and equality for all; and,

WHEREAS, as recognition for their commitment to promoting respect, understanding, and acceptance, EMU alumnae and doctoral student Kimberly Dixson-Ferrell received the Evans-Strand Diversity Award and undergraduate student Nailah Bush received the Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship award.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Eastern Michigan University Board of Regents congratulates committee co-chairs Ellen Gold, Steven Bryant, and Tray McGuire, the MLK Celebration Planning Committee, and all who contributed to the 33<sup>rd</sup> annual MLK Celebration, and encourages the entire campus community to continue to support Eastern's commitment to inclusion, diversity, equity, and equality.

February 7, 2019