#### EASTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY

Commission on Sustainability

At

# Eastern Michigan University

### I. Purpose

The Commission on Sustainability is charged with adopting the Sustainability Tracking, Assessment, and Rating System (STARS) as the framework for fostering sustainability at the university and to measure, document, and publicly communicate the university's progress toward achieving each of the framework's criteria. STARS criteria are organized into four broad categories: Academic, Engagement, Operations, and Planning and Administration. Full criteria, credit rationale, applicability to the institution, scoring, reporting fields, measurement, term definitions, and examples are provided in the full STARS technical manual found at: https://stars.aashe.org/pages/about/technicalmanual.html. A person on the Sustainability Commission will need to become familiar with the technical manual for their area of expertise. They should be able to measure the necessary data points, calculate the credit, strategically plan to work toward improving the sustainable rating of the university, and be in a position to effect changes within their units. The total STARS score determines one of four STARS ratings available: Bronze (25 or above), Silver (45 or above), Gold (65 or above), and Platinum (85 or above). Each rating level represents a significant and widely recognized increase in an institution's commitment to sustainability and advancing the STARS rating should be a primary goal of the Commission.

The commission should develop a sustainability plan guided by this framework and our definition of sustainability to strategically plan and implement measures through policy recommendations directly to the Eastern Michigan University (EMU) President for continuous improvement of our campus sustainability and to our STARS rating.

#### II. Appointment and Term of Office

The EMU President will appoint all regular members for a three-year term with the exception of the student representatives who will be appointed for a two-year term. All appointees may be re-appointed. The Commission on Sustainability will provide the EMU President with names of suggested nominees for appointment.

The EMU president will appoint the commission chair at the beginning of each academic year.

## **III. Composition of the Commission**

The EMU Commission on sustainability should consist of at least 18 members. See the Table below for a specific breakdown of the composition of the Commission on Sustainability and each subcommittee.

Subcommittees	Commissioners	Number of Commissioners
Academics	Designee     Faculty Senate Open Call     Provost Office     Undergraduate Studies     Graduate Studies and     Research Development     Institutional Research and     Information Management     (IRIM)     Faculty     Department Heads     Librarians	3
Engagement	Open Call  Faculty Development Center  VISION Volunteer Center  Engage @ EMU  Campus Life Residential Life Communications Marketing Foundation Human Resources UACDC Alumni Relations	3
Operations	Open Call	6
Planning and Administration	Open Call	2

	<ul> <li>Risk Management</li> </ul>	
Additional Designees	Student Government	1
Open Call	Students	3-5 with a minimum of 1 student per subcommittee
Minimum Number of Sustainability Commissioners		18

#### **IV. Commissioner Duties**

- 1) Commissioners shall regularly attend meetings of the Commission and its committees.
- 2) Commissioners shall maintain involvement in committees by way of projects, attendance, and participation.

## V. Full Commission Meetings

- 1) Meetings of the Commission shall be held at least once each fall and winter semester.
- A special meeting of the Commission may be called by the written approval of an absolute majority of the Commission. The Commission chair shall inform the entirety of the Commission of the date, location, and time of special meetings no less than forty-eight (48) hours before the special meeting is to be held.
- 3) Meetings of the commission shall be publicly posted and open to the public.
- 4) Motions pass by a majority of attending members

### VI. Quorum

Quorum shall constitute a simple majority of all the commissioners, including the commission chair.

# VII. Standing Committees

- 1) The Sustainability Commission shall have four (4) standing committees: Academic, Engagement, Operations, and Planning and Administration
  - *a)* Academic Committee shall assess, track, and plan to improve the university's formal education programs that address sustainability.
  - b) Engagement Committee shall assess, track, and plan to improve how the university supports students with sustainability learning experiences outside the

- formal curriculum and supports faculty and staff engagement, training, and development programs in sustainability.
- c) Operations Committee shall assess, track, and plan to improve the university's impact on air quality and climate, sustainability performance of buildings, sustainable energy consumption, support of sustainable food systems, sustainable grounds maintenance, support of a sustainable economy through purchasing, sustainable transportation, sustainable waste management, and water conservation.
- d) Planning and Administration shall assess, track, and plan to improve the university's coordination and planning to institutionalize sustainability, advancement of diversity and affordability, investment decisions to promote sustainability, incorporation of sustainability into human resource programs.
- 2) Membership in each of these committees will be appointed by the president's office in consultation with the guidelines set forth in the table in section III.
- 3) Each committee will elect a chair at the first committee meeting of the Fall semester. The chair will call meetings, set agendas, and give the committee report at the commission meetings. If the chair is absent from the commission meeting then another member of the committee will be appointed by the chair to serve in their place.

## **VIII. Ad-Hoc Committees**

Ad-hoc committees may be established by the Commission to address timely issues affecting the Commission or brought to the Commission's attention. The membership and duties of ad-hoc committees shall be determined by the Commission via resolution establishing the committee.

#### IX. Amendment

All amendments to these Bylaws must be in the form of a resolution. Amendments require  $\frac{2}{3}$  majority vote of the commissioners minus the Commission chair. An amendment to these Bylaws takes effect on the first day of the following semester unless otherwise specified in the resolution approving the amendment.

#### X. Definition

Sustainability entails both principles and practices that promote and maintain the responsible use of natural resources by current generations to ensure the availability and well-being of those resources for our future generations. Individuals, communities, and institutions should strive together to develop and support comprehensive actions/initiatives that include: a) safeguarding environmental vitality; b) promoting ecologically sensitive economic development; and c) bolstering community prosperity and resilience across both short and long-term time scales.