direct edit

EMU & Undergraduate Symposium Alumni

first logo

8,000 Alumni Strong!

The Eastern Michigan University Undergraduate Symposium was first held in 1981 and was represented for its first ten years with this logo. In its 38-year history approaching 8,000 EMU students have presented their research and creative initiatives under the direction of faculty mentors. These snapshots provide a glimpse of the event’s alumni and their professional career paths since presenting in their academic discipline. We are proud to highlight ...


Oluwaseun Adetayo

Oluwaseun (Seun) Adetayo, MD, FAAP is a board certified plastic surgeon with expertise in pediatric plastic and craniofacial surgery. She is the Section Chief of Pediatric Plastic Surgery, and is the Founder and Director of the Cleft-Craniofacial Center at Albany Medical Center in Albany, NY. She earned a Bachelors of Science from EMU in 2002 with honors in Computer Science and added minors in Biochemistry and Mathematics. During her undergraduate education, she presented three years at the Undergraduate Symposium and served as its student emcee in 2002. She came back to her alma mater to serve as the 2016 Dennis M. Beagen Undergraduate Symposium Keynote Speaker.


Dave Coverly

Dave Coverly is an internationally syndicated cartoonist best known for his comic series “Speed Bump” that appears in more than 400 newspapers. His newest venture is a chapter book series for kids, the first entitled, Night of the Living Worms. Coverly earned his BS with a double major in Imaginative Writing and Philosophy at Eastern Michigan University, and received his MA in Creative Writing from Indiana University. Coverly presented at the Undergraduate Symposium in 1987 and 1985 and while at Eastern he penned a comic panel called "Freen" for the Eastern Echo. In 2011, he was asked to give the commencement address at EMU, and was presented with an Honorary Doctorate in Fine Arts.  


Ian Pendleton

Ian Pendleton is a fourth-year graduate student at the University of Michigan studying organic chemistry. He is currently a Rackham Graduate Research Fellow and was awarded the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. Ian was recently published in the Journal of the American Chemical Society as a co-author of “Experimental and Computational Assessment of Reactivity and Mechanism in C(sp3)–N Bond-Forming Reductive Elimination from Palladium(IV).” Graduating from EMU in 2012, Ian was a 4-time Symposium Undergraduate Research Fellow under the faculty mentorship of Dr. Harriet Lindsay. Ian also served as student emcee at the celebratory Undergraduate Symposium luncheon during his final presentation year. While he continues his academic endeavors, Ian is advocating the importance of connection and mentorship in the field of chemistry. Recently penning an article titled “The Greater Chemistry Community,” in the publication Graduate and Postdoctoral Chemist, Ian reflected on his connection with Dr. Lindsay, “I am still very early in my career and have yet to see the long-term effects of my volunteer work, but I was the recipient of such contributions. I was extremely fortunate and will be eternally grateful for having what I consider to be the greatest type of mentor an incoming college freshman could ever want.”