Eastern Michigan University
direct edit


Margaret M. Smith Scholarship for the Advancement of Women: Deadline: December 21,2015

This endowed fund is named in honor of Margaret (Peg) Smith, a community feminist, librarian, EMU alumna, and state athlete, by the contributions of friends and family in the celebration of her 80th birthday in 1994. Peg’s love of literature and literacy was legendary, and she paved a path for women with her own life achievements. The fund enhances the educational advancement of women through a scholarship award.


Any undergraduate or graduate student at EMU who can demonstrate:

  1. Financial need;
  2. Commitment to the advancement of women, evidenced in a variety of ways, including but not limited to extracurricular activities or activism, enrollment in a women's and gender studies major, minor or graduate program, or a non-traditional major or minor, non-traditional career choice; and
  3. Minimum GPA of 3.0

Apply Now

Distinguished Leaders Scholarship Award:  Deadline extended:  January 8, 2016

This endowed fund is named in honor of EMU’s first-generation of women’s studies faculty upon the retirement of several original members, Dr. Daryl Hafter, Dr. Marie Richmond-Abbott, Dr. Rachel Brett Harley, and Dr. Betty Barber. With others, these founders began the first Women’s Studies minor in the state in 1975. The fund enhances the educational advancement of WGST majors through a scholarship award.


Current EMU WGST majors (undergraduate or graduate), junior standing and higher, who exhibit outstanding academic success as demonstrated by:

  1. Research project(s) focused on women and gender;
  2. Academic service directly related to the study of women and gender, and
  3. Other measures of academic success (GPA, academic presentations, honors, etc.)

Apply Now

The Women's and Gender Studies Department is part of the College of Arts & Sciences, 214 Pray-Harrold, 734.487.4344