EMU Preparation for HLC Accreditation

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is the agency that conducts institutional-level accreditation to all degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region, which includes the state of Michigan. EMU was first accredited by HLC in 1915 and the University has begun to prepare for its next accreditation visit in 2017/18 academic year. This website serves as a portal that gathers documents and resources related to EMU’s Preparation process and the accreditation visit, and helps keep the EMU community informed about the progress.


A Message from President James Smith

HLC Site Visit Meeting Schedule


HLC Quick Reference Guide (Version March 2017)


2017 Work Plan


HLC Key Insight (April 2017)


July 2017 AP Meeting Presentation