MLK Scholarships & Awards

EMU is pleased to offer multiple scholarships and awards during the Annual MLK Celebration.  Please click on the title of each scholarship or award to learn more information and review application requirements:


Evans-Strand Peace Award 

Modeled after the Nobel Peace Prize, this $1,000 scholarship is awarded to a currently enrolled EMU student who has made significant contributions to the advancement of cultural understanding and acceptance of diversity at EMU. Application deadline is December 16. 2022. Apply for the Evans-Strand Peace Award.


MLK, Jr. Remembering the Dream Scholarship Contest

Three currently enrolled undergraduate students will be chosen to receive a $500 scholarship. This year we invite you to share an essay writing or multimodal presentation that best demonstrates how the theme ( “Remembering the Dream”) speaks to you.  You might choose to write poetry or a short memoir, create a zine, record a podcast or a spoken word poem—or some other genre that lets you best represent your connection to the ideas of Dr. King. Application deadline is January 2, 2023. Apply for the MLK, Jr. Remembering the Dream Scholarship Contest.


MLK Student Scholarship

MLK Student Scholarship recognizes an Eastern Michigan University student who has demonstrated a commitment to promoting respect and improving the quality of life for all people consistent with the ideals of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr, and service to Eastern Michigan University and/or the southeastern Michigan community. The recipient will receive a $1,000 award credited to their student account and will be recognized at the MLK Scholarship Ceremony. Completed application materials must be received by the application deadline on December 16, 2022. Apply for the MLK Student Scholarship.


Presidential Difference Maker Scholarship

The Presidential Difference Maker Scholarship is a $2,500 award provided to a currently enrolled full-time undergraduate or graduate student who has made a significant contribution on-campus and/or off-campus that enriches the lives of others. Application deadline is December 16, 2022.  Apply for the Presidential Difference Maker Scholarship.


Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognizes individuals from Eastern Michigan University’s campus community or a member of the surrounding community who exemplify the values and ideals of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Application deadline is December 16, 2022. Apply for the Humanitarian Award.