Due to the extreme weather conditions, Eastern Michigan University is canceling all classes on Monday, February 2. This includes all planned campus activities, lectures and events. The University will be open as scheduled on Tuesday, February 3, for regular business and classes.

Office of Financial Aid Office of Financial Aid

Scholarships for Transfer Students

Eastern Michigan University awards a variety of scholarships to incoming transfer students. Merit based transfer scholarships require a minimum of a 3.0 GPA and 30 transferable credits from a regionally accredited institution at time of application. All transfer scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis based upon factors such as GPA, number of transferable credits and date of application file completion.


Award Name


Renewal Criteria


Regents Scholarship

• Enroll in 15 hours each semester
• Maintain a 3.5 EMU GPA and meet SAP*

Recognition of Excellence Scholarship

• Enroll in 12 hours each semester
• Maintain a 3.3 EMU GPA and meet SAP*

Transfer Scholarship

• Enroll in 12 hours/ semester for full award
• Will prorate for 1/2 and 3/4 time

National Scholars Program (NSP)

Approximately $15,000
• Enroll in 15 hours each semester
(Difference between
• Maintain a 3.0 EMU GPA and meet SAP*
resident and non-
resident tuition)

Formula to determine the number of semesters of scholarship payment:

Sophomore (25-55 credits) = 6 semesters of eligibility

Junior (56-84 credits) = 4 semesters of eligibility

Senior (85+ credits) = 2 semesters of eligibility

*SAP = Satisfactory Academic Progress: Requires that students earn passing grades in a minimum of 67% of the credit hours they take. Grades of W, I, N, NC or repeated classes are not "earned."