Eastern Michigan University

direct edit

Internships

Internships are a great way to gain experience and explore where you would like to work. ENVI students are required to complete a capstone project and an internship is one way to fulfill this requirement. Students are welcome to experience more than one internship; however, to receive credit for the ENVI capstone requirements, students must register for ENVI 305W after completing all other ENVI core courses and then ENVI 405 and ENVI 488L6 in a subsequent semester and the same semester they plan on completing the internship. Previous internship experiences will not count toward ENVI capstone requirements. Prior to registering for ENVI 405 and ENVI 488L6 students will need to fill out an “Internship contract” available for download below. Once the contract is approved, students will be given permission to register for ENVI 405 and ENVI 488L6. The decision to approve your contract depends on the following:

  1. Completion or expected completion of ENVI 305W
  2. Demonstration of application of ENVI academic coursework to the internship
  3. Demonstration of the completion of 150 total hours
  4. Supervisor and student signature

What is an Internship Like?

ENVI 405 student, Mary Griffiths, has started a blog to document her journey as an intern this summer with the Clinton River Watershed Council. She posts weekly about her internship experience, job tasks, and people that she meets. To follow Mary's story this summer check out her blog here.


American Society of Adaptation Professionals

Ypsilanti, MI

Assist in researching content and designing newsletter, website content, social media content, press releases, and news articles, organize meetings and webinars.

Must show interest in the field of climate change adaptation. 

15-20 hour/week

Paid: $10-15/hour

Apply by email to careers@adaptpros.org with cover letter and resume. Use subject line
“Communication & Engagement Intern”. 

Beth Gibbons, Executive Director
BGibbons@adaptpros.org | 734.219.3529


ASA Analysis and Communications Inc.

Ian Kennedy kennedy@asaac.com


Ausable Clean Foundation

Jeff Twyman jrt@streamside.us.com


City of Ann Arbor Systems Planning Intern

Jennifer Lawson jlawson@a2gov.org


Clinton River Watershed Council

Internships for Spring/Summer will be posted here February 2019!

Interns to start Mid April (flexible on start date with school schedule).

Paid. (2 Available)

Unpaid. (5-8 Available)

Internships for Fall posted here July/August 2019!

Interns start in September 2019.

Unpaid. (2-3 Available)

Abigail Laneabby abby@crwc.org or at contact@crwc.org


Clean Water Action

Every Semester, Ann Arbor, Unpaid

Motivated and organized individual

Contact: Mary Brady at mhbrady@cleanwater.org

For More Information


Detroit River International Wildlife Refuge

Summer, Internships for students and recent grads

For more Information


Ecology Center

Alexis Blizman alexis@ecocenter.org


EMU Biology

Margaret Hanes mkoopma2@emich.edu


EMU's Children's Institute

Sustainability Intern

2018–2019 school year

Paid

Internship Information [PDF]


EMU Dining Services

Callie de Gracia ds_cdegracia@emich.edu


Environmental Law & Policy Center

Internship Search Engine: http://elpc.org/jobs/


EPA

Pamela Christian Christian.Pamela@epa.gov


Farm at St. Joe's

Year round

Internships and volunteer opportunities

Currently looking for Agriculture and Community Health intern for summer 2019.

Contact Lauren Moscoe at lauren.moscoe@stjoeshealth.org for more information


Giving Garden EMU

Becca Timmermans rtimmer1@emich.edu


Green Things Farm

Jill Lada jill@greenthingsfarm.com


Growing Hope

Ypsilanti, Michigan

Unpaid for Spring and Summer!

Multiple positions available!

Apply at: apply@growinghope.net

More Information


Herpetological Resource and Management

David Mifsud dmifsud@herprman.com


Horseshoe Lake Corporation — Hydrology Internship

Strategies to address flooding remediation at Horseshoe Lake (Northfield Township, MI):

Tasks involve: Evaluating wetland storage capacity, upstream detention, weir removal and more.

For More Information


Huron River Watershed Council

Ongoing

Fall/Winter/Summer

All skills welcome!

Unpaid

Contact- Jason Frenzel: jfrenzel@hrwc.org

More Information | Flyer


Kalamazoo Nature Center

Lauren Lott lknollenberg@naturecenter.org


Kiwanis Club of Ann Arbor Foundation Inc.

Margaret J. Krasnoff, Dana A. Dever mjk@ddwmlaw.com dad@ddwmlaw.com


Leslie Science and Nature Center

Ongoing

Fall, Winter Internships, Ann Arbor

Wildlife Curator, Educator, Early Childhood Education Intern

Unpaid Internship

Educator Intern Early Childhood Education Intern

For More Information


Mannik and Smith

wbolt@manniksmithgroup.com

SDailey@manniksmithgroup.com


Metricsoft Inc.

Al Salerno al.salerno@metricsoftinc.com


Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

Ongoing

Fall, Winter, and Summer internships, Lansing

Goes until all positions are filled

Unpaid Internship

Main Contact- Tom Occhipinti: occhipintit@michigan.gov


Michigan Department of Natural Resources

Spring/Summer

Paid & Unpaid Positions

Contact: Tom Occhipinti: occhipintit@michigan.gov


Michigan League of Conservation Voters

Henry Griffin henry@michiganlcv.org


Nature Conservancy

Summer (10 weeks)

Location Varies

For More Information Current Positions


National Park Service: Geoscientists in the Park

Lisa Norby lisa_norby@nfs.gov


National Park Service: Sleeping Bear Dunes

Matthew Mohrman matthew_mohrman@nps.gov


Natural Area Preservation (NAP) City of Ann Arbor

Michael Hahn, George Hammond, Rebecca Snider mhahn@a2gov.org, nap@a2gov.org napnewsletter@a2gov.org


Northfield Community Foundation/Maybury Farm

Paid

Main Contact: Jessica Striegla at ncfmanager@gmail.com, 248-374-0200 or 616-648-5094 OR Cindy Kern at cindykern72@icloud.com, 517-902-3847


Nova Environmental, Inc.

April Bennett Officemanager@nova-env.com


NSF International

Robert Donofio donofrio@nsf.org


Nutty Scientists

Paid- $15/hr

Available Now: March 2019

Mostly Ann Arbor (includes around SE Michigan)

Primary responsibilities of a Nutty Scientists Instructor intern include teaching lessons, assisting in writing lessons leading hands-on interactive science activities in elementary summer camps and special events, as well as an opportunity to develop environmental lesson plans for the INTO THE WILD camp. Opportunities are also available to begin part-time work in the winter after-school programs.

Ana Samaniego, southeastmichigan@nuttyscientists.com, 734. 395.5728


Post-Landfill Action Network (PLAN)

Alex Freid alex@postlandfill.org


Potter Park Zoo

Conservation Internship

Unpaid (Full Time & Part Time)

For students who are currently pursuing or have recently completed a degree in zoology, fisheries and wildlife, animal science, biology, environmental education, or related field

Our Mission: Inspiring conservation of animals and the natural world Conservation Internship Application

Deadlines : Spring 2019: Until filled Summer 2019: April 1, 2019 Fall 2019: August 1, 2019 Spring 2020: November 15, 2019

College credit is available.

Apply at: https://potterparkzoo.org/internships/, and send resume and cover letter electronically: mknight@ingham.org Or by mail: Attn: Megan Weidman Education Program Registrar/Conservation Champion Potter Park Zoo 1301 South Pennsylvania Avenue Lansing, MI 48912 Potter Park Zoo is an AZA accredited zoo in Lansing, MI. 

 

Education Internship

Unpaid (Full Time and Part Time)

The Education Internship provides a practical learning experience and knowledge of zoo operations and informal conservation education in a zoological setting.

Students who are currently pursuing a degree in zoology, biology, education, environmental education or related field.

Hours will generally be during the week, with some required weekend and evening

Deadlines : Spring 2019: Until filled Summer 2019: April 1, 2019 Fall 2019: August 1, 2019 Spring 2020: November 15, 2019

College credit is available.

Apply at: https://potterparkzoo.org/internships/, and send resume and cover letter electronically: mknight@ingham.org Or by mail: Attn: Megan Weidman Education Program Registrar/Conservation Champion Potter Park Zoo 1301 South Pennsylvania Avenue Lansing, MI 48912 Potter Park Zoo is an AZA accredited zoo in Lansing, MI. 


Recycle Ann Arbor

Angela Porta christine@recycleannarbor.org


Reroot Pontiac

Jonathan Weyhrauch jon@rerootpontiac.org


RISEUP: Wayne State

riseup@wayne.edu


Solar Circle

David Finnegan finnegad@cooley.edu


Student Conservation Association  

Internship Search Engine: https://www.thesca.org/    

Recent Michigan Internships found here:

Camping Education and Conservation Intern-Detroit Outdoors

Expected Dates: April 1–November 10, 2019

Work with the Sierra Club, Detroit Parks and Rec Department and the YMCA of Metro Detroit to develop and deliver a youth camping initiative at the Scout Hollow Campground in Rouge Park.

Invasive Plant Internship

Huron-Manistee National Forest

May 28–August 18, 2019

Identify native and non-native plants and learn techniques for treating invasive plants. Interns will use a variety of maps, GPS units and ArcMap. 

More Information

Click here to discover more internship positions and to learn how to apply online.


Tetra Tech

Michael Kovacich michael.kovacich@tetratech.com


Thurston Nature Center

Elizabeth Morehead (or Moorhead) elizabeth.e.morehead@gmail.com


T H Maged Services

Tom Maged tmaged1@gmail.com


Total Quality Management

Van Stewart tmaged1@gmail.com


Tuthill Farms and Composting

Sandra Tuthill sandra@tuthillfarms.com


USGS

Mary Evans, Jim Schaeffer, Tim O'Brien maevans@usgs.gov jschaeffer@usgs.gov tiobrien@usgs.gov


 

Washtenaw County Parks and Rec

Allison Krueger kruegera@ewashtenaw.org


Wayne County Airport Authority

Bryan Wagoner bryan.wagoner@wcaa.us


Ypsilanti Community Utilities Authority (YCUA)

Swestover@ycua.org lindsey.kerkez@ohm-advisors.com