Eastern Michigan University logo

Inez S. Rolfes Dementia Endowment Award

The Aging Studies Program has developed an award opportunity to support course development, program development and/or professional development in the area of dementia.  This award is available to EMU instructor(s) (i.e. faculty, full-time lecturers, part-time lecturers) for course/curriculum content related to dementia and can be used to support travel, conference attendance, site visits, training, and other opportunities to enhance knowledge of dementia.  This award is also available to students in the Dementia Certificate Programs, who may use funds to support attendance at workshops, conferences and travel for educational purposes.

Award recipients will disseminate knowledge gained with support from this endowed award to the EMU community, general public, and donors.  Attendance at the Aging Studies Program Welcome Reception and Awards Ceremony in September of the year awarded is expected.

Application Deadline:

Application will be considered and evaluated on a rolling basis; please submit to Dr. Andrea Zakrasjek via email (azakrajs@emich.edu) at any time.  Please be sure you include your name and “Dementia Award Application” in the subject line of the email.  Upon review of application, awards will be determined by the Aging Studies Program Award Standing Committee until funding has been depleted.  Applications will be considered in the order received. This award fund typically has $1000 available annually.

Application Form

Please contact Dr. Zakrajsek if you have any questions regarding the award process: 

Andrea Zakrajsek, OTD
Director, Aging Studies Program

The Aging Studies Program is part of the School of Health Sciences, 313 Everett L. Marshall Building, 734.487.4096