Thanks to the generous support of alumni, friends, and faculty, the History Section is able to award more than $30,000 in scholarship support annually. Undergraduate scholarships and graduate scholarships help pay for tuition and fees, and other awards support travel and research. Potential donors are invited to contact Department Head James Egge.

2020 History Scholarship Recipients

  • Undergraduate Scholarships

    Expand dropdown
    • Jenna Berry - Fred J. Ericson Memorial Scholarship
    • Taylor Gardiner - Friends of History & Philosophy Endowed Scholarship
    • Khariane Gray - George York History Endowed Scholarship
    • Skylar Johnson - Neil McLarty Merit Award Scholarship
    • Yanni Kefallinos - Elizabeth S. Adams Memorial Scholarship
    • Sr. Simeon Marie Lademan - Esther Walker Barnard History Endowed Scholarship
    • Katherine Lake - Fred J. Ericson Memorial Scholarship
    • Sr. Mary Vianney Lyon - George York History Endowed Scholarship
    • Katherine St. Amand - Elizabeth Warren Scholarship


    Travel scholarships will be awarded later.

  • Graduate Scholarships

    Expand dropdown
    • Maryanne McNutt - Richard Henry "Hank" Abbott Memorial Endowed Scholarship
    • Holden Morter - Richard Davis Goff Endowed Scholarship
    • Emily Murphy - Opperman Fellowship in History
    • Rachael Schnurr - Opperman Fellowship in History
  • JoEllen Vinyard History Essay Prize

    Expand dropdown
    • Joanne Wisely - "From Genocide to Universal Access: The Development of HIV/AIDS Healthcare in Rwanda”  - Winner
    • Leigh Young - "The Battlefront Back Home: How Ypsilanti Really Felt About Fighting To Free The Slaves” - Runner-up


Skip Section Navigation