CHHS Faculty: Celebrating Promotions, Achievements, and Awards Earned!


Editor's Note:

Faculty members in the College of Health and Human Services are committed to the education of their students, the advancement of their disciplines, serving EMU and the community, and advancing knowledge through research. During their academic careers, one of the greatest achievements a faculty member can earn is tenure and promotion. This year, eleven faculty colleagues were granted tenure, and fourteen were promoted to a higher academic rank. The faculty members completed an extensive evaluation process that included each of their teaching, research and service activities within the university. We are so proud of their accomplishments!

Granted Tenure and Promoted to Associate Professor

A photo of new tenured and associate professors
A photo of new tenured and associate professors


A photo of new professors
A photo of new professors


Promoted to Professor

2018-19 Faculty Research and Creative Activity Fellowships

The Faculty Research Fellowship (FRF) is intended to encourage the support of research, creative, artistic, and scholarly endeavors of full-time tenured, or tenure-track faculty by providing release time awards for outstanding proposals. Faculty can also receive funds to cover supplies, services, and materials and travel expenses related to the release. Eight faculty colleagues were awarded FRFs for the 2018-19 academic year.

  • Minnie Bluhm (Health Administration / Public Health): Time to Initiate the First Phase of a Major Scholarly Work: Preparing for a State of the Art Literature Review on the Science of Health and Happiness
  • Yvette Colón (Social Work): Effectiveness of an Online Support Group Program for Adults with Chronic Pain
  • Jillian Graves (Social Work): Understanding the Influence of Pre-Briefing on the Efficacy of Mental Health Simulations
  • Celeste Hawkins (Social Work): Making Youth Matter: The Impact of Mentoring and University-Community Partnerships
  • Holly Hopkins (Nursing): Implementation and Utilization of Gynecological Teaching Associates and Male Urogenital Teaching Associates: A Scoping Review
  • Annemarie Kelly (Health Administration): ABLE Account Program Policies: A 50-State Review of Governmental Services and Budgeted Costs
  • Sarah VanZoeren (Social Work): Making Youth Matter: The Impact of Mentoring and University Partnerships
  • Sarah Walsh (Health Administration / Public Health): Using the National Health and Aging Trends Study to Predict Future Demand for Meals on Wheels Services

Sabbatical Leave Awards

Sabbatical leaves are granted for special study, research and/or other projects that will enhance the usefulness of the person to the institution, perform service on the local, state, national, or international level, and/or bring prestige to the University. Two faculty colleagues were granted sabbaticals during the 2018-19 academic year.

  • Minnie Bluhm (Health Administration / Public Health): Developing a New Specialty Area in the Science of Health and Happiness (One Semester); Bringing the Science of Health and Happiness to Eastern Michigan University: Developing a New Specialty and New Courses (Two Semesters)
  • Ken Saldanha (Social Work): Children and Youth of Michigan’s Seasonal Farmworkers (One Semester); Seeing, Listening and Scribing the Lives of Children of Farmworker Families in Michigan (Two Semesters)

Undergraduate Research Stimulus Program

The Undergraduate Research Stimulus Program is intended to facilitate research partnerships between undergraduate students and EMU faculty. Successful student applicants receive a $2,000 fellowship in support of their research efforts. The collaborating faculty member may receive $500, which can be used for lab/studio supplies or equipment, professional travel, or other professional expenses. Three faculty colleagues will serve as mentors to three CHHS student recipients.

  • Thomas Klemm (Social Work major): Guaranteed Monthly Income: Benefits and Challenges for the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi – Perry Silverschanz (Faculty Mentor)
  • Nikkolo Romero (Nursing major): Dietary Acculturation and Health Literacy of Filipino-American Students in Michigan – Meriam Caboral-Stevens (Faculty Mentor)
  • Kathryn Wilson (Nursing major): Nursing Students’ Perceptions and Beliefs Regarding Vaccinations – Jennifer Avery (Faculty Mentor)

Congratulations to our CHHS faculty colleagues for their professional accomplishments!